Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband loved this and ate several large helpings. My kids thought it was okay. I did not like at all. I can never find potatoes of this kind to compare with the ones my mom makes. I am glad my hubby liked it though. It was too runny for my taste. I didn't really measure just guessed at ingredients so probably made a difference. at least everyone ate it, which is more than I can say for some recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
meh. totally not the flavor i was looking for. did not elicit scalloped potato thoughts as i was eating this. the only thing i did differently was i omitted the ham as i am not a fan of pork. even my boyfriend didnt enjoy this dish and he is a potato fiend. good for others just not for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These were very delicious. I added extra ham and cheese to mine and doubled the recipe as well. I don't think I did a good job of dividing the soup mixture though because one pan was dry and the other had plenty of sauce. I also spiced one up with Hot Shot and crushed peppers - they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yum! I opted to bake this in the oven. Use milk instead of water and more shredded cheese. Cheddar cheese soup worked much better than cream of mushroom for us. Didn't spend time layering it, just mix everything together in a 9x13 dish, cover it with foil, & bake at 375 for an hour. For a finishing touch turn the broiler on and let it brown nicely on top. True comfort food. A meal everyone in the family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I loved this idea. First time to try scalloped potatoes in a slow cooker and with a few changes it turned out to be one of the family's favorites. I left out the cheese and garlic powder and put a full ham slice bone in on top of the potatoes as they cooked. And added kernel corn on each layer. The flavour of the ham went through the potatoes. I also put another spin on it by laying pork chops on top. Both versions were absolutely stupendous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Um, these turned out gray. The flavor was sorta okay, but I feel like I wasted a lot of food. We all took a bite or two and threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We liked this. Other than layering the ingredients and using milk rather than water as other reviews say, I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would have rated it 5 stars but for the fact that mine ended up having too much liquid. I cooked it longer in an attempt to dry it out a bit. I will be re-heating it for dinner tonight and maybe it will be more solid now. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Followed recipe exactly, except used previous suggestion of the water/cream of tartar step to prevent browning of potatoes. Smelled okay, but didn't turn out like I envisioned scalloped potatoes to be. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I did like this recipe, however I thought the onion was a bit too much, I think I will cut the onion down to quarter cup or none at all next time, I added more ham clove of garlic and more cheese! YUm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good and easy. Didn't have any faux ham, so made it without and it was still tasty. Next time will try to find some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States