Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Definitely layer the ingredients, and try using thinly sliced polska kielbasa instead of the ham. When making a similar oven recipe, I also layer in shredded cabbage for a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good and easy for a weekend but not for a weekday as it can not cook that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I have been married for 14 1/2 years and my husband has always said he does not like ham mixed with food. But this dinner is the exception. He loves it and so does my 4 year old. The only thing I changed was I used cream of chicken instead - adds a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is very similiar to my recipe for slow cooker scalloped potatoes. My recipe is to butter the crockpot and layer half the potatoes, onions, seasonings, ham, and velveeta cheese. Repeat with second layer. Top with cream of chicken soup (or any other cream soup). Sprinkle with papricka. I cut the medium size potatoes in half before slicing thin. Doing this reduces my cooking time to just less then 3 hours on high. Another tip is to soak the raw potatoes in 1 cup of water mixed with 1 teaspoon of cream of tartar to prevent the potatoes from browning, drain water before layering. This is a wonderfully delicious and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I read some of the reviews on this before I made so I did a little bit of a change. I used milk in place of water and I did it with seasoned and browned pork chops. This smelled great while cooking and the pork chops came out nice and moist. The only thing I think I will pass on when making it next is the cheese as we found it didn't really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlwright139

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made this for dinner last night. Used up all the potatoes I had before they went bad. I also cut up a celery stalk, in addition to the onion. I used the lower sodium cream of mushroom soup. I followed other reviewers advice and used milk instead of water. Didn't have only cheddar on hand, used cheddar and Colby mix. And used 2 cups of leftover frozen Christmas ham. Yum! I felt Luke adding some frozen corn as it smelled so good. Vi cooked the corn separately, but added it in when I served it. My toddler inhaled it. I couldn't shovel it to him fast enough. My 7 yr old is going through the "everything tastes gross" phase, so it was a battle to get him to eat it. I'll only make this if I have the ingredients on hand. Thanks for the comfort recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
this is sooo yummy..i made this a while back and im making it again tomorrow...my husband loved this i got at least 10 compliments from him thru dinner..he is excited for tomorrows dinner...thank you for the awesome recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was skeptical about making this because I was certain it was going to come out watery rather than creamy. I was wrong! It came out very creamy and very tasty. :o) I have to admit I didn't follow the called for amounts of potato, ham, and onion - I "eyeballed" the ratio to sauce amount. I probably used about 2 cups of cheese and added a half soup can of milk. Sprinkled with chopped chives before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
very delishhh. The hubbs and I added organic heavy whipping cream in place of the water. We also tripled the ham and doubled the cheese. My man likes meat! so creamy..and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States