Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Just made this today and love the flavor but I have to agree that its way too much chicken broth. The pork loin is too good a grade of pork. I should of used shoulder. I made as directed but did a 5 lb roast Next time I will use 3 lb and add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a good recipe. I love pork and sauerkraut. I make pork ribs and kraut and this is a lower fat version. I added a little garlic to it and potatoes the last few hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
John enjoyed it; not so much for me...pork was very tender though. Be sure to rinse the sauerkraut before putting it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
The recipe was quick and easy.The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because I added potatoes as others had done.I didn't care for the taste of the saurkraut they picked up.I wished I had just made some some mashed ones on the side.All and all it made for a terrific meal that we were ready for at the end of a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have to start by saying I HATE sauerkraut. I want to like it! I've always loved pork cooked in it, but can't stand the overwhelming flavor it has. I added potatoes to mine do I wouldn't have to come up with an additional side last minute, only change I made. And WOW!!!I never would have dreamt that an apple could make such a difference! I also want to say this us the first time I've felt compelled to rate and review a recipe. I've found many good recipes on here, but none that blew my mind like this one. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was excellent,after reading some of the other reviews, I omitted the salt altogether because of the chicken broth and next time I make this I will omit the chicken broth altogether is does make is somewhat soupy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My family really loved this and it was super easy to make. Next time, however, I'd add more spice to kick it up a notch. Perhaps more black pepper, some tarragon and crushed red pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OeneLeonard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My Gran did a simple version of this using homemade kraut potatoes and various cut of pork. the potatoes are sliced thin and used almost like a crust. Layer of potatoes, then layer of pork cover with kraut then another layer of potatoes. about 3 layers for a roasting pan. Have tried it with various types of pork which is quite important to the taste. Side ribs are what seem best. Have tried with loin but just isn't quite right. Potatoes should be a russet variety. And the kraut has to be a salt cure not a wine cure. The wine cure really ruins the dish. You may want additional salt as the potatoes kill that but only after serving. Black pepper fresh coarse ground when putting together and a bit after works well. When done this really is a fantastic winter comfort food. If you like salty kraut, pork, and potatoes then try this or one of the versions you will find one that works and will never be able to make it enough to satisfy your taste for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Since I am not a cook need to tell why the apples are there. To counteract the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States