Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
A wonderful dish. My husband is German and I am learning to not only cook German food, but also to enjoy it. This was a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Wonderful! I added 1 can of beer after the first 2 hours on high then turned it down to low and let it simmer for 4-5 more hours and then served over mashed potatos...the BEST dish or its kind and oh so simple...loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotJulia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Easy to make & quick preparation and the family loved it, I have passed the recipe on...Im sure everyone will enjoy! Great work! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A bunch of us at work get together and do an occasional slow cooker meal in 4 hours. We chose this one for Oktoberfest. We used Kruegerman All Natural Sauerkraut in the glass jar from the local German Deli and emptied the contents directly into the slow cooker without rinsing or adding additional water. Krugerman's sauerkraut tends not to be as salty in taste as the popular national brands. Based on a prior review we decided to chop the onions rather than slice them. This worked out well. 4 out of the 5 of us who participated would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WERNER

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I never use to like sauerkraut but I really enjoyed this recipe. It's very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I havent made this recipe yet, tho it is on my list of meals to make soon! I am from a german family however and have had variations of this recipe before. You can try pork chops instead of the sausage and use an apple (the sweetest ones work the best with the kraut) to give yourself healthier meal as sausage can be quite fatty at times! the result will be delish! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good/easy recipe. The first time I made it, I used 42 ounces of sauerkraut (which I thought was a little too much). However, when it was ready, I found myself eating fork-fulls of the sauerkraut (and I never really even like sauerkraut. A few tips: 1. Use extra brown sugar (3/4 cup)---it really does a number on the kraut! 2. Add some dijon to it (just a big ol' squirt of it). 3. Instead of cooking high for four hours, try it on low for 8-10 hours. 4. Ensure you stir it every 45 minutes or so. Thanks, Lisa---this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Cooked this last night. I only had smoked beef (not pork) sausage. It was great. The skin around the sausage was tender, not tough like baked, and the sauerkraut was just perfect. I didn't have enough time to cook as long as directed so I cooked it on high for 2 and a half hours and it was so good. I will cook this again and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! My husband didn't even swallow his first bite without saying ummm. I was a little short on time so I cooked it on high for just over 2 1/2 hours and everything was done. It never got dry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Mrs. Morrison (3/17/08) totally changed the recipe, didn't she?! I wonder what she thinks of the original recipe. I'll take grannycancook's version. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States