Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
All I had at home was a 32 oz. jar of sauerkraut, and I didn't feel like trying to figure the 12 oz. to take out, so I just used the whole jar and 2 pounds of sausage. I used keilbasa, since so many reviewers suggested the change. I kept the sugar at 1/4 cup, used one whole onion, and cooked according to recipe directions. It was FANTASTIC! My husband is not normally keen on sauerkraut, so I was a little worried he would just pick out and eat the sausage. He didn't, though! He said it was "surprisingly" good. He attributed the cut in acidity to the onions, but the secret ingredient that makes the sauerkraut really palatable is the brown sugar. You can't taste it per say, but it really makes a delicious difference. I served the concoction on hoagie rolls with brown mustard. So good! This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Your recipe was very easy to fix and it tasted good. I used kielbasa, most likely I will make it again and use pork chops, parts of pork roast or just follow the recipe and use ground pork. I thank you a lot for letting me copy your recipe and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
A great starter recipe. I used beer brats,3 cans of sourkrout,1 green apple (sliced), 1/4 cup brown sugar and half a can of beer. Cook on low in the slow cooker for 6 six hours. It turned out so yummy. I offered hoogie rolls if people wanted them. I made a huge salad and some baked beans to go with! Will make again and again. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
What a great and easy way to make sauerkraut. We also washed the fresh sauerkraut, adding more brown sugar for the increased amount of kraut. Last minute addition--small jar of applesauce over the layered kraut, sausage, onion mixture added a different depth to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy to fix!! Just put in the slow cooker and let it cook. The brown sugar gives it a good flavor! We enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is an easy delicious recipe. I use turkey Keilbasa instead of the pork sausage and it works really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong. My family didn't like it either. It was really sweet and the sausage didn't taste good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this last night and instead of putting it in a crockpot I use a large stock pot on the stove. Still turned out good. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours. I however did not use 1/4 c. of brown sugar..I use 1/8 c. It was just perfect for us. Next time I am going to drain the kraut and cut it into smaller pieces. I just got introduced to this concept at a local hot dog shoppe around here and it's just so good. It too has the sweet taste that this one has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I make this recipe every New Year's Day for my family. I couldn't stand this stuff as a kid, but I love it today (and so does the hubby)! One change I make is using thinly sliced apples instead of the onions. I also RINSE my sauerkraut lightly in strainer. Other variations we also love is using kielbasa or beef smoked sausage. I cut pieces into 1/2", layer a small amount of sauerkraut on bottom of crockpot, then some sliced sausage, then thinly sliced apples, then small amount of brown sugar. I repeat this until everything is inside. I always end with sauerkraut on top so the sausage doesn't become hard and overcooked. Before eating salt and pepper to taste. It's even better the NEXT day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have to start off by saying I hate saurkraut and the smell of it. What was I thinking?! Serves me right. My husband loved this, but thought there was too much saurkraut in it. I think its a great recipe, but I dont know that I'll make it again becuase I don't care for the smell...but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States