Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I so wanted to like this, because it was easy. However, it was a little bland for us, even after I pumped it up some with 1 tsp. ground cumin, 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Bold Taco Seasoning, and 1/2 tsp. chili powder. The blsl chicken was completely done after 2 1/2 hours, too. I shredded the chicken and added it back to the pot when I added the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My husband loved this! I used Pace picante sauce - medium hot - and this seemed to solve the bland issue. He got out Tapitio sauce expecting to use it but he did not. He loved the taste. Used handmade corn tortillas, shredded cabbage, green onions and chopped tomatoes as toppings. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I only had legs & thighs. Removed skin with paper towels. Hold ckn in one hand with paper towel. Grab skin with other hand with paper towel. Sooo easy. I did use a little extra salsa with a little ckn broth (1/4 cup). Followed recipe only I cooked mine in my electric pressure cooker. 20 minutes. Removed bones & shredded ckn. Dark meat always has more flavor. Served with chopped green onion. sliced olives, sour cream & shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious and really easy to make! I thought the chicken might be too bland so I added some chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to the chicken before placing it in the slow cooker. It turned out really well! Shred your chicken before adding the cream cheese to make it easier to eat. Serve with basic taco fixings - lettuce, tomato, salsa, sour cream, etc - for a really yummy and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Instead of salsa I substituted tomatoes with diced green chilies. Also, take the lid of the crock pot when you mix in the cream cheese so some of the liquid will evaporate. Very good on flour tortillas topped with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is one of my favorite easy recipes. I have always used Pace Picante Sauce and never thought it was bland. Definitely drain the corn or use frozen. We serve it over rice with corn chips on the side. The rice with the flavorful chicken and sauce makes it extra creamy and delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was so easy to throw in the crockpot as I was running off to work in the morning. After work I walked in to this fabulous aroma. I didn't have a can of corn but frozen worked fine. The chicken shredded in moments, and I used non-fat cream cheese. We served it on tortillas with some shredded cabbage, but serving it on rice or a baked potato would be great as well. Kudos, and Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I use this for making enchiladas but I also add green chili and jalapeño to the crock pot and then enchilada sauce when I put it in the oven. Like others have said I also use fat free cream cheese! I hate anything FF but you can't even tell. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This a great and fool proof recipe. I give it full stars as is, but I've also tweaked it a few times and it has turned out well then too (what salsa you use will make a difference in the ultimate outcome). I almost always use three large breast rather than four, unless they are particularly small. Changes I've made that work: pinto beans instead of black, added Cayenne pepper seasoning, frozen corn instead of canned, and/or I've added frozen green and/or red peppers. Homemade corn tortillas is the way to go, but if you don't want to go to the hassle, store-bought flour is good too. After we run out of tortillas, we use tortilla chips to finish it off. Tip: Each time I go to shred the chicken, I look at the mix and think "this is too runny!," but without fail, after I've added back the shredded chicken, added the cream cheese, and let it cook for another 30 minutes - it is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very delicious! Everyone loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States