Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dailmar L. Vallejo
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe was easy and so good!! My husband raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dailmar L. Vallejo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Mesa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Hubby gave this a 5 star rating; I only give it 4, but I'm super stingy with 5 star ratings. I did use fajita seasoning instead of taco seasoning because its what I had in the house. I used a hot salsa, so I left the habaneros out (would have used them with a mild salsa). The chicken totally shreds itself with no effort. So soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is really good but instead of tenderloins I used leg quarters and at the end I drained a little juice and threw in some velveeta. It REALLY brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Since going back to school my life has gotten increasingly busy. It is hard to make a meal every night and especially something that is at least a little bit healthy. My mom had given me a crockpot after she found a really good deal on it so I started asking people for great recipes that could be made in a slow cooker that were not all that unhealthy. A coworker introduced me to the Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken recipe on AllRecipes so I tried it. I have since made the recipe about 20 times, I am absolutely in love with it and I make sure I have all of the ingredients on hand. I have substituted the diced tomatoes with green chilies with plain diced tomatoes if I don’t have the ones with chilies; it still tastes just as good. This is such a super easy recipe to make and there aren’t many ingredients to it. I have used this concoction in burritos, on top of rice and even on top of a salad. It is such a versatile meal that tastes different depending on how you prepare it. I would highly recommend this slow cooker meal to anyone I know and as a matter of a fact I do tell everyone who asks me about a great recipe about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I only used 1 pound of chicken and added a can of black beans. I kept the rest of the ingredients the same amount of the 8 servings. It was the perfect amount of chicken for all the other ingredients. I thought I would put it over rice but it's so hearty I haven't needed to add anything. Will definitely add this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed suggestions and used fire roasted tomatoes & used fire roasted salsa. I lightly sautéed the onions, celery and peppers before putting in the crock pot. This was delicious!! Served with fresh cilantro and sour cream on warmed tortillas. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I had high expectations about this recipe, but it just didn't turn out for me. After tasting it and deciding I had to do something...I added some salt, pepper and some mixed dried herbs after draining some of the liquid out of it and shredding the chicken. I then let it slow cook for another hour and it was better. I really think it was the salsa I used and maybe if I had used the fire roasted diced tomatoes that Paula suggested in her review it might have been a lot better. My suggestion? Use a really flavorful salsa and the fire roasted tomatoes and you might have a winner. Thanks Carajeanne for submitting this as it has great potential using the right ingredients. **Addendum 9-21-14--Because mine turned out extra spicy I added it to some cooked white rice...and...Viola!...it made a great tasting "Spanish Rice"! So, you never know what a difference one ingredient can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I hated it. It was soupy, and the chicken was rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgabrielle0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is a keeper for sure! Easy, delicious, and filling. Used salsa style fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of the Rotel because it's what I had. Used it tonight as a filling for tacos. Thinking about using the leftovers in soup of some kind. The husband who rarely rates any recipe high gave this one 5 stars! He thought it was better in a hard corn tortilla as opposed to a soft one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States