Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
We fixed it as recipe directed except we used fresh rosemary out of garden. This is an extremely tasty and nutritious dish. Good blend of protein, fat and carbs. We served over brown jasmine rice. We figured 1/8th serving is about a cup of finished dish. We let it cook till we could easily shred the chicken with a fork while still in the slow cooker. The corn starch thickener was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Thacker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The chicken was dry and completely tasteless and the sauce was "meh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This recipe is just deish!! I have made it 3 times since the first and the whole family loves it!! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I think this recipe is a little bland. I used white wine instead of vermouth and I added a can of stewed tomatoes. I think it needed chicken stock or broth, some crushed red pepper and more garlic as well as salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very dry. I used white wine instead of vermouth, added fresh mushrooms & added a can of tomatoes. I think I just have bad luck with chicken in the croc pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I always make the recipe as written to start. With that said I found this a little lacking so I tweaked it a little. Used bone-in chicken the browned it and the sausage first (sun dried-chicken sausage). Carmelized the onions and peppers and then placed in cooker with one small can diced tomatoes with oregano and rosemary. Substituted one can of chicken stock for the vermouth and added small button mushrooms for the last two hours. Only took 5 hours on low to be fall off the bone delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Pretty good. I added a lot more liquid using chicken broth instead of vermouth and it kept the chicken moist. As a result, though I didn't really get a gravy, so I served over rice. It was still pretty good. Very easy, too; I loved that I could put it in the slow cooker in the morning and have a good meal at dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Not bad, but not so good either. It lacked flavor and the chicken was a little dry (and we'd used thighs). Next time I'd add a can of diced tomato (as I now see others suggested) and use chicken broth instead of vermouth. I'd add more veggies, too - more pepper, maybe some banana peppers, and probably some mushrooms. I would double the oregano, add more rosemary, and put the salt in earlier in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. A combination of two of my favorite meats, lots of flavor and punch. A new favorite. I would not change a thing in this! My husband (who is not crazy for chicken) went wild when he tasted it, he loves this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yummy and easy! I added sauteed fresh mushrooms before thickening the sauce. I also added a half can of chicken broth when cooking to make sure chicken and sausage were not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States