Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this recipe! The meat just melted in your mouth. We had leftovers, and even those tasted great! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was a hit! Put in clow cooker at 7 am on high,cooked until 430, done. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I shall have to agree that this was too salty for my taste so I tried it again with a few mods: omitted the soy sauce, kept the rest of the recipe, added 1 tbs of Hickory liquid smoke and 2 tbs of Worcestershire sauce. My 2nd roast was done and fork tender in 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I used low-sodium soy sauce and I just didn't like that flavor in the broth. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for about 6 hours, then low for 3 or 4 more hours. Meat was tender and fell apart, but I just wasn't crazy about the soy sauce after taste. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Hate when people rate a recipe even though they changed everything about it. Made exactly as directed and was awesome. Do you need to cook a roast for 22 hours? obviously not. Can you give it a chance? Yup. Was not dry, was incredibly excellent and worked out perfect b/c I wanted something i could start in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
used homemade "dried onion soup mix" (google it) cuz all the ones i saw in the store had MSG. used just 1 tbs soy sauce (you can add more at the end if necessary...it isn't necessary). low for 8hrs worked for me. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I finally tried this recipe. I was very leary of making it because of all the comments posted. I have to say that the 22 hour cook time threw me off too. I'm new to slow cooker meals, although I love to cook. I mostly use my crock pot for dips. I always make a new recipe exactly as the recipe states, you can always add your own spin the next time. With that said, I fell into the "change it" category, thinking all of these people can't be wrong. I used low sodium soy sauce & added potatoes, carrots, garlic, ect. I also changed the cook time to 8 hours on low (guess my slow cooker isn't that slow). With all that said, I wish I had followed the original recipe.. I happen to like saltier food & I think the veggies may have changed the outcome of the recipe. I would still change the cooking time. It did turn out really good, but shame on me for falling into that "change everything category". If you make it, make it the way it is written, is my advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good taste. Great gravy. 5 lb roast took 8 hrs on low. Unsure how it could have gone 22 hrs. Maybe my crock pot is hotter. Used 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix after reading reviews. Threw in carrots, small onions and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I really liked this recipe :-). Easy as! The beef turned out really tender after 5 hours on high and 2 on low. After reading the reviews I used reduced salt soy sauce and added some Oregano and Garlic then thickened the gravy at the end. There is potential to make the gravy even more yummy. I didn't find this recipe salty - maybe it is the New Zealand soup mix and soy sauce. Really easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Next time either use less soy sauce or go with a lite sodium soy sauce otherwise was great..Just don't put the salt shaker on the table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States