Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Put this in the slow cooker (on low) at 7:30am and returned home at 5:00pm. It smelled pretty good, but tasted way too salty, and a bit overcooked. I can't imagine leaving it in for 22 hours. That has to be a mistake! Next time I would make this with low sodium broth or V8, then add the soup mix but NO soy sauce. Would also not cook it for more than 5 or 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Loved it! Everyone gobbled it up and I served it with mash potatoes and a veggie side. I would use low sodium soy sauce next time, it was just a tad too salty for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Very quick to prepare and so delicious. Before bed, I turned the crock pot to warm for the night, and in the morning, I put it back to Low, and added diced potatoes and threw in the little carrots from a bag in the refrigerator section of the grocery store. So quick, easy, tasty. Will certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was delicious! Followed the recipe exactly except changed the cooking time. I cooked it on high which requires less cooking time. There was a lot of juice so I added corn starch to it and made a gravy out of it and put it back with the meat. My kids couldn't get enough of it. They finished it up the next day also. It is great with mashed potatoes so you can use the gravy for the potatoes also. This is my go to recipe for roast from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
did not take 22 hours though. I cooked it on high for 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was good, but nothing special. Cooked it for 10 hours on low and it fell into shreds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made this precisely as is, even though I had my doubts about the 22 hours like most people say. I can't stand it when people write a review for something they haven't even tried...anyway... This was OK as is, a bit too dry, of course because of the cooking time but nothing the resulting gravy mix could not fix (made with 2tsp cornstarch in water - was great). Here is what I will do different next time, now that I have tried the baseline recipe: 1. Cook for 10 hours max 2. Add in a bit of red wine in addition to the water and the soy sauce (easy, since you just need to leave the last 1/2 inch of the roast uncovered) 3. If I have time, will sear the sides before putting it in the crock pot 4. Will pepper all sides before putting in the roast (wasn't enough to just put it on the top) This had a great taste, fell apart (no cutting this baby) and I guess these changes will make it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
A definite hit! So easy and so good! However, 9 hours on slow was all it needed. Perfect with mashed potatoes. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very good, the time is truly a typo. I cooked for 10 hours and the meat was falling apart and very tender. I like overwhelming taste and this fell a bit short for me but everyone else at my dinner party loved it and raved. I may of spiced it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I almost always cook pot roast on Sundays, and I experiment with different recipes. But it usually ends up tasting the same. I was beginning to get bored of it, and then I tried this recipe. It provides so much unique flavor to the meat, and it is so juicy and tender. My husband (who doesn't really care for pot roast) even loved it! And my small children ate it all too! Thank you for this delicious recipe glasswomn9!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States