Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Hate when people rate a recipe even though they changed everything about it. Made exactly as directed and was awesome. Do you need to cook a roast for 22 hours? obviously not. Can you give it a chance? Yup. Was not dry, was incredibly excellent and worked out perfect b/c I wanted something i could start in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
used homemade "dried onion soup mix" (google it) cuz all the ones i saw in the store had MSG. used just 1 tbs soy sauce (you can add more at the end if necessary...it isn't necessary). low for 8hrs worked for me. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I finally tried this recipe. I was very leary of making it because of all the comments posted. I have to say that the 22 hour cook time threw me off too. I'm new to slow cooker meals, although I love to cook. I mostly use my crock pot for dips. I always make a new recipe exactly as the recipe states, you can always add your own spin the next time. With that said, I fell into the "change it" category, thinking all of these people can't be wrong. I used low sodium soy sauce & added potatoes, carrots, garlic, ect. I also changed the cook time to 8 hours on low (guess my slow cooker isn't that slow). With all that said, I wish I had followed the original recipe.. I happen to like saltier food & I think the veggies may have changed the outcome of the recipe. I would still change the cooking time. It did turn out really good, but shame on me for falling into that "change everything category". If you make it, make it the way it is written, is my advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good taste. Great gravy. 5 lb roast took 8 hrs on low. Unsure how it could have gone 22 hrs. Maybe my crock pot is hotter. Used 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix after reading reviews. Threw in carrots, small onions and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I really liked this recipe :-). Easy as! The beef turned out really tender after 5 hours on high and 2 on low. After reading the reviews I used reduced salt soy sauce and added some Oregano and Garlic then thickened the gravy at the end. There is potential to make the gravy even more yummy. I didn't find this recipe salty - maybe it is the New Zealand soup mix and soy sauce. Really easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Next time either use less soy sauce or go with a lite sodium soy sauce otherwise was great..Just don't put the salt shaker on the table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Those who said 7 hours are enough are right! Trust these reviews! We're Jewish and observant and Friday night dinner is the week's highlight. AND we don't cook ANYTHING after sundown, so everything has to be done before. To have a bunch of steak eaters rave and do back flips over something that be set up the night before and turned on in the morning and be done EXACTLY at dinner time ... THANKS for this one! (PS add veggies and maybe a dash of Worcestershire sauce ...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I was a little weary about this recipe, as I do not usually use packages such as soup mixes in my meals. Also my boyfriend assured me that he doesn't like the flavour of onion soup. Well, I couldn't get him away from the leftovers after dinner! He was trying to have 3rds! I had to shoo him away so I could save some for dinner tomorrow! It was really yummy! Used a 2lb lean cut, cooked on high for 6-7 hours, was perfect! I used low-sodium soy sauce. Took a portion of the juices to make a gravy in a pan with some corn starch and froze the rest of the liquid to use as a broth in a future recipe. We had garlic mashed potatoes and corn as sides. Can't wait for left overs! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I would make this again but it wasn't mind blowing. I used only a 1/4 cup of soy sauce because of the saltiness issue. I figured we could always add table salt if need be. The gravy was delicious but no different than what you can get at the store if you ask me. Meat pulled apart nicely but it wasn't ad juicy as i was hoping. Cooked on low for 10 hours and served with a side of mashed sweet potatoes as well as the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It is still cooking in my Rival Slow Cooker. I put it in at 9:30AM and will add the potatos at 3:00 and hope its ready at 6:00. Sure smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySkyJan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States