Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good! January 28, 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a great basic recipe, with some modifications. First of all, it does not need 22 hours to cook. Second of all, you don't need all that soy sauce. I actually used 1/4 cup of soy sauce and worstershire sauce (because I did't have enough soy sauce). I also used mushroom onion soup mix instead. I set it on low at 8 AM, honey came home at 2 PM and added mushrooms, carrots and potatoes. We were eating by 4 PM. My family enjoyed it immensely. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
sooooo good... we made this several times and love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It was good, but I found it to be very salty. Perhaps my roast was too small? Not sure. It was super easy and after thickening the juices into gravy, it made for yummy hot roast beef sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I put it in the crockpot at 9 p.m. last night and actually woke up in the middle of the night because I smelled the food and thought for a minute someone was cooking! I ate it tonight about 7 and loved the taste. I was surprised it didn't scorch or make the meat too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this today...smelled awesome, and tastes great. I modified slightly by adding a can of cream of mushroom soup and leaving out the pepper. Cooked a 2.5 lb. roast on high for about 4.5-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHTHONIC1239
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the best roast beef I've ever had and definitely my go-to recipe from now on. The best cut of meat I've used for this recipe is a 7-bone pot roast, aka chuck roast. Best if the cut has bones in it, to impart more flavor. Do not be afraid of the amount of soy sauce called for, it will not make the roast too salty, trust me. Also, instead of adding a bunch of water, just substitute a can of condensed French onion soup instead of the onion soup mix + water. There is no need to add that much liquid because the roast will let out its own juices. A nice touch to add is to put a package of halved button mushrooms into the crock pot during the last hour of cooking - best mushrooms ever! You can even save the juice to cook more mushrooms in later. I'm not sure why this roast would need 22 hours to cook. I cooked mine on low for about 8 hours and it was already fall-apart tender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent! Quick and easy for busy days. Family said it was just excellent, how nice for such little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I reduced the amount of soy sauce and it was still overwhelmingly salty. My husband liked it, but it definitely needed low-sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Amazing!! The roast cooked to tender perfection in my slow cooker for about 20 hours. I also added carrots,celery, and onion. I thickened the sauce with some cornstarch and served the roast and veges over garlic mashed potatoes. Comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States