Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Unlike most reviewers, I actually made this recipe. I used the exact ingredients and followed the directions and it was perfect. One of the best roast I have ever tasted. It needs to cook for 22 hours to really balance and mellow the flavors. I took a taste test at about 8 hours of cooking and it was too salty, but after the full cooking time it wasn't. Do yourself a favor and try this roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaxNY
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Overall very tasty dish and simple to make. I am subtracting a star because of the confusion over cook time: 8 hours on high turned my meat into a brick. My husband still loved it and the flavors were good, so I think I'll try this again with a way shorter cook time. I think the ease and potential still makes this recipe a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This is a reasonable and easy pot roast if you need to make one in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I didn't use a slow cooker on this because I prefer my Dutch oven to a crock pot any day. Things get done faster and I don't have to use electricity for hours and hours. The taste was great. I used a cup of wine and added beef stock for the rest of the liquids. I also included celery and tossed in potatoes near the end. IMHO, this recipe calls for too much liquid. The meat was swimming in it. It's not stew when it's like that, but soup. Will freeze the liquid to use for later, but will never make it with so much liquid in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Heim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was awesome! I used low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is amazing. I did modify it somewhat, which is annoying, I know. I added the onion soup mix, maybe 1/4 c soy sauce, and 1/4 c red wine. I didn't use water, but instead used the liquid I'd frozen from the last pot roast I made, but I think broth would work just as well. I cooked it on high for 4 hours, then low for another 3. I added carrots in the last couple of hours. It turned out fantastic. I thickened the juice and made gravy for mashed potatoes. Easy and delicious. It was not too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything except added carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
It can be eaten after 8 hours. I tasted it after 8 hours and it was good. I cooked it for the full 22 hours before I served it to my family. It fell apart (almost crumbled) after the 22 hours. My husband and son loved it and said they would like for me to make it again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I just cooked two lbs in the slow cooker on low for 10 hrs and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I substituted worcestershire sauce for the soy sauce because it sounded salty. Used fresh onions instead of onion soup. Cooked in about 8-9 hours.. threw some carrots, parsnips and potatoes in at about hour 5. I think 22 hours would have given me mush. But yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States