Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a delicious and VERY easy slow cooker beef roast using just a 3 to 4 lb. boneless rump roast with a packet of au jus mix, a packet of Italian dressing mix (both put in dry) and a 12-oz can of beer. It is so simple and cooks in 6 to 8 hrs. and pulls apart with a fork. Great for sandwiches or over rice, noodles or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I followed the directions for all the ingredients, but due to running errands, it cooked for about 45 minute linger. The meat was pretty dry and VERY salty. I might consider cutting the amount of soup mix in half and making sure to use low sodium soy sauce. The flavor was really good, but I couldn't get over the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Henze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Rally yummy and easy! Just make sure to trim the fat a little before you put it in. We used half Sweet Baby Rays & half Open Pit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
So yummy! I would not recommend cooking this over night. The delicious aroma kept me awake! I used a prime cut bottom round roast. I would not leave a good cut in for 22 hrs unless you would like roast pudding! So yummy and easy! I followed other recommendations and added veggies a few hrs before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
My family LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and enjoyed it every time. I don't find that it's too salty because I use low sodium soy sauce. As others have mentioned, mine usually cooks for about 8 hours and it's done, but I do check the temperature to make sure. This one is a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
amazing and " loved it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe but I added 1 cup of beef broth and 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire along with some garlic powder and complete seasoning. I also added 3 red potatoes, mushrooms, and half of an onion. The flavor was awesome. Added a roll and some provolone cheese and made sandwiches with it the next day. 22 hours would have been way too long. Cooked it on high for two hours and then left it on low for another four hours and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was very good. I read lots of reviews before making this, so I made the following changes: 1) Cooked for 10-11 hours on low. 22 is unnecessary. 2) Substituted some of the water with low-sodium beef broth. 3) Substituted beefy onion soup for regular onion. 4) Used 1/4 c. instead of 1/3 c. soy sauce. I also took the roast out and mixed in a cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce. Took some of the fat off the beef and put it back in. I wish I had left this in at least another half hour, as it wasn't quite as thick as we wanted until after we were done. My roast was shy of 3 lbs. and I do wish I had gotten a bigger one, as it cooked down a LOT. It barely fed 3 people in my house. With the changes above, I would absolutely make this again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The only thing I did differently was use low sodium soy sauce and about 1 1/2 teas of pepper instead of 2 teas. I'm not a pepper fan so I thought the top of the beef covered in pepper would be strong. But it wasn't.. This tasted Fantastic!! There is another beef recipe on this site that uses the onion soup mix but the beef needs the gravy for taste. This meat was great even without the gravy. I cooked it in a slow cooker on high for 7 hours and it was falling apart. VERY Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States