Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Those who said 7 hours are enough are right! Trust these reviews! We're Jewish and observant and Friday night dinner is the week's highlight. AND we don't cook ANYTHING after sundown, so everything has to be done before. To have a bunch of steak eaters rave and do back flips over something that be set up the night before and turned on in the morning and be done EXACTLY at dinner time ... THANKS for this one! (PS add veggies and maybe a dash of Worcestershire sauce ...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I was a little weary about this recipe, as I do not usually use packages such as soup mixes in my meals. Also my boyfriend assured me that he doesn't like the flavour of onion soup. Well, I couldn't get him away from the leftovers after dinner! He was trying to have 3rds! I had to shoo him away so I could save some for dinner tomorrow! It was really yummy! Used a 2lb lean cut, cooked on high for 6-7 hours, was perfect! I used low-sodium soy sauce. Took a portion of the juices to make a gravy in a pan with some corn starch and froze the rest of the liquid to use as a broth in a future recipe. We had garlic mashed potatoes and corn as sides. Can't wait for left overs! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I would make this again but it wasn't mind blowing. I used only a 1/4 cup of soy sauce because of the saltiness issue. I figured we could always add table salt if need be. The gravy was delicious but no different than what you can get at the store if you ask me. Meat pulled apart nicely but it wasn't ad juicy as i was hoping. Cooked on low for 10 hours and served with a side of mashed sweet potatoes as well as the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It is still cooking in my Rival Slow Cooker. I put it in at 9:30AM and will add the potatos at 3:00 and hope its ready at 6:00. Sure smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Keen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Yes I think it is wonderful, my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie Litchfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newton Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
After dinner last night my boyfriend called this "The best roast beef" while talking to his buddy. Then he kept stealing my leftovers while I was trying to eat them this morning for breakfast. We'll definitely be having this again. I did use a rump roast instead of chuck, and low sodium soy sauce. I cooked it on low for about 10 hours and it was deliciously fall-apart tender. We didn't find it too salty at all, probably because of the low sodium soy. The au jus this made was phenomenal and made gravy that was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My family loved this. The meat was so soft it shredded. I only cooked it for 12 hours though (and it was done), but I will try 22 next time, I just have to prepare in advance. Thanks GLASSWOMN9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very easy to make. Was a hit last week for a football party. But you do not need to cook more then 8 hrs on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gray Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Fall apart excellent. I followed the 22 hour recipe. The only thing I changed was using low-sodium soy sauce and seasoned to taste at the end. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I used a 2lb. sirloin roast instead of the chuck roast. I could easily use a larger roast, as it was a bit salty. I made a thickening for a great gravy and we had it with mashed potatoes (and just didn't add salt to those.) We all really liked it! Leftovers will made good sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States