Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this today...smelled awesome, and tastes great. I modified slightly by adding a can of cream of mushroom soup and leaving out the pepper. Cooked a 2.5 lb. roast on high for about 4.5-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHTHONIC1239
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the best roast beef I've ever had and definitely my go-to recipe from now on. The best cut of meat I've used for this recipe is a 7-bone pot roast, aka chuck roast. Best if the cut has bones in it, to impart more flavor. Do not be afraid of the amount of soy sauce called for, it will not make the roast too salty, trust me. Also, instead of adding a bunch of water, just substitute a can of condensed French onion soup instead of the onion soup mix + water. There is no need to add that much liquid because the roast will let out its own juices. A nice touch to add is to put a package of halved button mushrooms into the crock pot during the last hour of cooking - best mushrooms ever! You can even save the juice to cook more mushrooms in later. I'm not sure why this roast would need 22 hours to cook. I cooked mine on low for about 8 hours and it was already fall-apart tender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent! Quick and easy for busy days. Family said it was just excellent, how nice for such little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I reduced the amount of soy sauce and it was still overwhelmingly salty. My husband liked it, but it definitely needed low-sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Amazing!! The roast cooked to tender perfection in my slow cooker for about 20 hours. I also added carrots,celery, and onion. I thickened the sauce with some cornstarch and served the roast and veges over garlic mashed potatoes. Comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
DELICIOUS! Very, Very tasty. A really good meal for company. Did not cook for 22 hours, instead cooked on slow for 8-9 hours and then refrigerated overnight. Removed fat in morning and then cooked for another 2 to 3 hours and served on open face hoagy buns. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this recipe! The meat just melted in your mouth. We had leftovers, and even those tasted great! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was a hit! Put in clow cooker at 7 am on high,cooked until 430, done. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I shall have to agree that this was too salty for my taste so I tried it again with a few mods: omitted the soy sauce, kept the rest of the recipe, added 1 tbs of Hickory liquid smoke and 2 tbs of Worcestershire sauce. My 2nd roast was done and fork tender in 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I used low-sodium soy sauce and I just didn't like that flavor in the broth. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for about 6 hours, then low for 3 or 4 more hours. Meat was tender and fell apart, but I just wasn't crazy about the soy sauce after taste. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States