Slow Cooker Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
For being a recipe in a slow cooker this is really good. Is it as god as the slow stove method, probably not but it's a great side dish for busy days. Toss everything in and forget about it. 5 stars for being family friendly and easy to make. This will be on dinner rotation going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is such a low fuss method for making risotto. I didn’t have any dried onion so I just added a little chopped onion. Next time I wouldn’t cook it as long but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Beckie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love risotto and was excited about trying this one since it was in the slow cooker. I was not expecting it to have the same creamy texture as one cooked on the stove top, but, was still intrigued to give it a try. The plus side was that the flavor was wonderful! You could taste a perfect blend of garlic, white wine, & parmesan cheese. I would give the flavor five stars. The downside for us was the texture. We did not care for the texture at all. I kept checking it to be sure it did not overcook. It seemed to be the perfect texture, but, had not absorbed the liquid and was still runny. I cooked until the liquid was just absorbed - about 2 hours. The rice was very mushy. It was so mushy it seemed more like mashed potatoes. I would rate the texture one star. Although the flavor was a big hit, I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
It was good and easy to make. I used homemade chicken broth which gave it an extra richness. I think the cooking time is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was delicious. Mine was a bit overcooked. I would suggest checking it prior to the 2 hours to see if this is done. I am sure the cooking time varies a bit depending upon your device
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Tasty! Mine was done at 1.5 hours, so I turned off the slow cooker and stirred in the Parmesan and an extra splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Knowing how much stirring I am saving myself by using this recipe, makes it revolutionary! not sure I will ever make risotto the old way again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Too much olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly using my 3 quart slow-cooker, cooking for 2 hours, but my risotto was mushy instead of being al dente. The flavor was good. Maybe my 20-year-old slow-cooker is a little off. Will try again in my newer 6 quart slow-cooker and watch it towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
We doubled the recipe and it took 4 hours. Turned out great. I did borrow a smaller crockpot than my own, so it wouldn't burn (3qt?) I followed a suggestion and added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States