Slow Cooker Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love risotto and was excited about trying this one since it was in the slow cooker. I was not expecting it to have the same creamy texture as one cooked on the stove top, but, was still intrigued to give it a try. The plus side was that the flavor was wonderful! You could taste a perfect blend of garlic, white wine, & parmesan cheese. I would give the flavor five stars. The downside for us was the texture. We did not care for the texture at all. I kept checking it to be sure it did not overcook. It seemed to be the perfect texture, but, had not absorbed the liquid and was still runny. I cooked until the liquid was just absorbed - about 2 hours. The rice was very mushy. It was so mushy it seemed more like mashed potatoes. I would rate the texture one star. Although the flavor was a big hit, I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
It was good and easy to make. I used homemade chicken broth which gave it an extra richness. I think the cooking time is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was delicious. Mine was a bit overcooked. I would suggest checking it prior to the 2 hours to see if this is done. I am sure the cooking time varies a bit depending upon your device
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Tasty! Mine was done at 1.5 hours, so I turned off the slow cooker and stirred in the Parmesan and an extra splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Knowing how much stirring I am saving myself by using this recipe, makes it revolutionary! not sure I will ever make risotto the old way again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Too much olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly using my 3 quart slow-cooker, cooking for 2 hours, but my risotto was mushy instead of being al dente. The flavor was good. Maybe my 20-year-old slow-cooker is a little off. Will try again in my newer 6 quart slow-cooker and watch it towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
We doubled the recipe and it took 4 hours. Turned out great. I did borrow a smaller crockpot than my own, so it wouldn't burn (3qt?) I followed a suggestion and added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Very pretty recipe, for my Redmond 4500 multicooker it is so easy that I can do it every day! When I was trying your recipe I saw that it was the same that in Redmond cookbook, they are both good, but in my cookbook there are photos of processing. So, meal is very tasty and warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe several times in three different crock pots and it came out disgusting each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States