Slow Cooker Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
It tastes great, but it is not thickened properly. I made this recipe 2 times. The first time I screwed up the timing and didn't cook it long enough. The next morning I dumped the mixture into an enamel coated cast iron pot and cooked it on top of the stove on low until the rice was done and it was thick. I also added another beaten egg at when I put it in the pot. It turned out great after recooking and adding the extra egg. The second time, I was very careful with the timing. This time it was creamy and the bits of rice I tried were done. It's been in the refrigerator for 2 hours. It's totally cooled and still runny, though not as much as the first batch was. Some of the rice isn't done this time either. This is thin enough to drink and I may just blend it smooth in the blender and drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This is the first time I ever made rice pudding. I have been looking for a simple recipe, and this one is it. Made two, separate, batches and they both turned out great. The recipe is simple enough that you can add your own flavouring, without, changing the end result of the recipe. I added one cup of raisins and a half a teaspoon of cinnamon, for the first batch, the second batch I added the same thing but one and a half of Rose Water, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Eckman-Dempster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This was great. I was worried there was not enough rice as it was very liquidy, but after sitting in the fridge for a few hours, it set perfectly. Raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
wasn't good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I don't like almond so I used rum extract very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrena Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lemon Grove, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Amazing. could do with a little less sugar. very soft and delicious. I made with almond milk, jasmine rice, and butter. Much easier than the stove top method and much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is a great recipe. I made it using medium grain rice, which meant that it was more mushy than if I had used long grain rice, but still delicious! I did not have almond extract so I used a little more vanilla. Some reviewers suggested adding a cinnamon stick at the beginning. I did so, but will not do it again, as it made the pudding brown and the cinnamon flavor was too pronounced for me, although everyone else loved it. I added about 1/2 cup raisins at the beginning also. I also used butter, not margarine, and whole milk. I had to cook this for an extra hour before it became the right consistency. I'll be using this recipe again and again. Very easy. A winner. Just keep cooking it until it gets right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is such a yummy comfort--food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Very tasty. I made a double batch. I used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 heavy cream.That is what I had on hand. I went by the cooking time that was listed as a start then kept watching for the liquid to absorb. My husband loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I think my slow cooker is weak because I left it on extra long and the rice was still fairly firm. Looks like I'll have to buy a new one and retry this. Although it turned out really soupy, it tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Net Modelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Tip for Karen’s Slow Cooker Chicken Fajitas

These simple chicken fajitas make dinner easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States