Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I added a can of rotel tomatoes, but thought it was still a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Loved this. I had to make it with what I had on hand. I soaked the beans over night. I then started them in the crockpot with chicken broth I had frozen. I used no water. I did add 2 bay leaves. I added a few slices of sausage for flavor. I had garlic head I had roasted and added that with onion. I added paprika and cayenne pepper. The beans cooked most of the day and night because I like using the low setting. I mashed some when done to add creamy texture. I then added the rest of the sausage and had some chicken I added too. It tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
The only changes I made was that I left out the celery and I swapped the bell pepper for a jalapeno pepper, because I don't like celery or bell peppers. Very tasty and easy to make. The beans were much more tender than any of the times I've tried to cook them on the stove top. I added some salt and pepper after the cooking was done, as instructed, but didn't need to add nearly as much as I thought I would. I guess a lot of the saltiness from the smoked sausage worked its way into the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was absolutely amazing! I doubled the recipe for the sole purpose of having leftovers. However I only added 1.5 times the water because it wouldn't fit into the slow-cooker. Still turned out beautifully and I have leftovers. The most important part is the nutrition of this meal. I may choose a ham hock next time to decrease the amount of fat (possibly), but this is still a very healthy meal!! Would be perfect with a touch of Tabasco sauce and side of corn bread. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Teston
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Pretty darn good nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Teston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Malone
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Love it! Followed the recipe without any alterations and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I omitted the bay leaf and added a can of rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Pretty good meal... Needed salt!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I refer to this recipe every time. It is absolutely amazing! - I know several ways to prepare red beans as well as pinto beans- this one is by far the best and very worth the tine and ingredients to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States