Slow Cooker Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I love pumpkin and I love a hearty, spicy chili. Sadly, the two didn't come together for me here. Chili powder by itself is not 'spicy' and needs more depth of flavor. So this was definitely sweet but didn't have the oomph I was looking for. After the fact I noticed that many reviewers added a lot of different things to get this to their taste. I hate when people give bad reviews after completely changing a recipe so I try to make it at least close to 'as written' and then doctor to my taste. I couldn't make this happen for this recipe. It had an OK flavor but was missing something. If you like sweet chili, this one will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I really liked the pumpkin in this chili, but I found the pumpkin pie spices to be too much. It was more sweet than I would have liked. My son wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just made it and I am so happy I did. I used some of tips. Sauteed the onions first.. I added mushrooms and orange pepper. topped w the pumpkin sour cream. The BF loved it. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved loved loved this recipe! Super easy to throw together with lots of leftovers to have during the week. Recommend throwing some fresh cilantro and onion on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Really liked the pumpkin flavor! I added another tablespoon of chili powder to contrast the sweet flavors. I also added a bag of frozen southwest vegetables ( green and red peppers , corn and more black beans ). Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I made this for the Halloween potluck at work. Turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (tripled). I received several requests for the recipe and they ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Super easy to make, I'll admit, I used canned pumpkin purée because I didn't have time to hack a real pumpkin. My hubby loved it, I even forgot to put cheese on the top! Love this fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozzsgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom2mee
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Excellent combination of spicy and sweet! I did make a couple alterations. First, I browned the turkey with the onions and some chili powder. Second, I used a 15 oz can of pumpkin purée in place of fresh pumpkin. Next, I used two 14 oz cans of regular diced tomatoes, one small can of Rotel chili tomatoes and one 14 oz can of white beans. I also replaced the brown sugar with a little bit of agave. Cooked on low for about 3 hours and high for an hour. Came out so delicious with just enough sweet to offset the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I'm a Texan and we love our chili HOT, so when I decided to try this recipe, I was skeptical that we would like it. I had leftover turkey and since the weatherman was predicting ice and snow, my family wanted chili. So I searched Allrecipes and found this one with the interesting pumpkin addition. I had never heard of putting pumpkin or sweet potatoes in chili. That sounded insane. But wanting to try something new, I tried this recipe using my leftover turkey chopped up, sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, and added more heat with jalapenos, Cajun seasoning, and chipotle chili powder. I also added a bag of frozen chopped onions and peppers and fresh cilantro. OMG! It was delicious. I had to stop my boys from eating it after 3 bowls each. I served it with just tortilla chips, nothing more on top as some suggested. If you are skeptical, try this and add your own flair to it. I even had to give the homemaking teacher at my school the recipe after she tried it. She was amazed at the flavor of the sweet and spicy blend. This will definitely become part of my chili rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was so delicious and very well received on a Football Sunday. Didn't think the fresh pumpkin was going to be easy to deal with but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States