Slow Cooker Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I looked at several other pumpkin chili recipes and the ones that got 700 reviews. Every positive review had so many changes and this recipe seemed to reflect them. I made this Halloween night and it was sooo delicious. We followed the recipe as it was listed except for these changes: canned tomatoes with diced chiles, unseasoned black beans (all I had in the pantry), and no brown sugar (I just forgot). I had some extra canned pumpkin puree (about a cup) that I threw in (why not?) and an extra can of beans to stretch the recipe further. It was really delicious. The flavor was subtle, it was so hearty and good. We ate it with honey cornbread and sour cream. Utter perfection. We will be adding this to our chili rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
We LOVED this chili - the picture doesn't do it justice. Full of flavor and so healthy, too. I substituted Rotel for the tomatoes, so it was extra hot. I will add half the chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I was hoping this would be the chili recipe that won my kids over but, sadly, it wasn't. I loved it though! It is a wonderful blend of fall flavors and the cinnamon really stands out. Next time, I may add some green chiles to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My family really loved this chili. It is very thick and hearty and has a sweet spicy flavor. I like to prepare healthy meals for my family and am used to substituting ingredients to make them healthier but with this recipe I didn't have to change a thing! The only thing I did do differently was to use a 15 oz. can of pure pumpkin for convenience. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Healthy and yummy! The only thing I changed I used sweet potato cut up in place of the pumpkin and doubled it... My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desire For Fit

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe was great, with a few personalized tweaks. I even won the chili cook-off at my job. Some variations that I tried which were extremely successful: 1. Sautee the (red) onion with olive oil, salt and cracked pepper prior to adding it into the cooker. 2. Season your turkey as it browns with salt, cracked pepper and a little chipotle chile powder. 3. Instead of chili beans, I used Great Northern. They really complimented the turkey, in my opinion. 4. Split your tomato portion - half regular diced, half fire roasted (as mentioned in other reviews). 5. Add in a small can of green chiles and diced jalapenos if you're looking for a little more spice with that sweet pumpkin. 6. Canned, pureed pumpkin works just as well if you feel like being lazy (I certainly was). 7. My local store was out of pumpkin pie spice (shame on me for waiting to buy it until October) - so I used varying dashes of Cinnamon, Paprika and Cumin. 8. Use Chipotle chili powder instead of regular. A couple tablespoons of cayenne pepper will also add some spice! 9. Season! Season! Season! There is no mention of salt and pepper in the ingredients, so I presume it's understood. But don't forget to SEASON the mixture!! Finally, I created a special sour cream mixture by mixing 3 parts sour cream to 1 part pumpkin puree and added a little chipotle chile powder. This really made the dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anwhite_08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this last night and it was amazing! I seasoned the turkey with garlic and pepper before I threw it in. I also used the Rotel diced tomatoes with the green chilis in it. Cubing the pumpkin was kind of a pain, but it was so worth it. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Simply fantastic!! Followed recipe to the letter but added 2/3 lb. Turkey Sausage, a Pumpkin Ale, can of mushrooms & 2 jalapenos for more "kick".... Came out the perfect blend of sweet & spicy!! A wonderful fall-time treat and a rather low calorie one at that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Photo by jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Loved the combination of the chili spice with the sweetness of the brown sugar & pumpkin. Just added a pinch of salt to the final product & it tasted great! Hearty, but not overwhelmingly heavy. Just right. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States