Slow Cooker Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good recipe!!! I used a few different ingredients! I used a bit of paprika, cream cheese, peppercorn and rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes. It wasnt a bad idea to add about a 1/4 cup of water. I also 86ed the brown sugar, the pumpkin added just enough sweet to make a sweet and salty combination that was to die for. This one is definitely getting added to my weekly makings!! Oh and instead of using cubed pumpkin i used puree and it was awesome!! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I like it a bit sweeter so I add it some more brown sugar, otherwise superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe was really easy to prepare and it was enjoyed by my family at Christmas eve. It was such a success that I served it again on New Year's eve. Everybody gave it to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Super awesome and I don't like even a little sweet in any of my main dishes, but I love this with added spice. I used organic canned pumpkin, made it a little spicer, soaked and used garbanzo beans because that was all I had, used leftover diced turkey, and added some water to make it at the right consistency for us (I also had used a lot of beans and turkey so it was super thick). Not huge changes and I believe if I had made it exactly as written it would have tasted just the same, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I love pumpkin and I love a hearty, spicy chili. Sadly, the two didn't come together for me here. Chili powder by itself is not 'spicy' and needs more depth of flavor. So this was definitely sweet but didn't have the oomph I was looking for. After the fact I noticed that many reviewers added a lot of different things to get this to their taste. I hate when people give bad reviews after completely changing a recipe so I try to make it at least close to 'as written' and then doctor to my taste. I couldn't make this happen for this recipe. It had an OK flavor but was missing something. If you like sweet chili, this one will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I really liked the pumpkin in this chili, but I found the pumpkin pie spices to be too much. It was more sweet than I would have liked. My son wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just made it and I am so happy I did. I used some of tips. Sauteed the onions first.. I added mushrooms and orange pepper. topped w the pumpkin sour cream. The BF loved it. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved loved loved this recipe! Super easy to throw together with lots of leftovers to have during the week. Recommend throwing some fresh cilantro and onion on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Really liked the pumpkin flavor! I added another tablespoon of chili powder to contrast the sweet flavors. I also added a bag of frozen southwest vegetables ( green and red peppers , corn and more black beans ). Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I made this for the Halloween potluck at work. Turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (tripled). I received several requests for the recipe and they ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States