Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this recipe on Sunday afternoon with the thought I could have a quick healthy breakfast all week long and it worked! Not only did it taste good but reheated for a single serving very well! I also used regular brown sugar. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
My husband and our unpredictable one year old loved it! I made it exactly as prescribed and it was delicious. When I make it again, I think I'll cut down on the cinnamon. I thought it was a bit strong, but my husband disagreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
It's a great recipe. I found it very tasty, but I did modify it. I thought the purée was silly, so I just chopped up a butternut squash and used a food processor (butternut squash is very similar to a pumpkin, but you can also chop up a pumpkin). I added the squash to the crock pot with the rest of ingredients. I did not add sugar because I figured I would add sugar to taste. It also gives people the option to add alternative sweeteners (if you are feeding a group of people). I'm a big fan of steel cut oats and I liked this variation to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Just made this recipe, which I love except I cut back on the brown sugar Splenda blend to 1/2 cup which was plenty sweet. Also, mine was finished after 4 hours on medium setting of my slow cooker (not a crock pot). I suggest that you make it during the day when you are able to gauge the cooking time. Like the fact that it is lo-cal and satisfying, plus pumpkin is so good for you! House smells great! Thanks for a yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Really good but it needs salt. When you bake a pumpkin pie, you add salt and that's what this needed. I think I added about a tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
After i started putting this recipe together, i realized i was out of brown sugar AND pumpkin pie spice. I added nutmeg to compensate and made it without the sugar. Instead, i sweetened it with stevia at the time of serving and it was delicious. My bf and I both thought this was great...like dessert for breakfast but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made this the other night. I thought it was a little on the sweet side but my daughter loved it so much she asked me to pack it for her lunch the next day. Next time I make it I will use a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Love fixing steel cut oats in the crock pot/slow cooker----I have used a reicpe comparable to this which is my fave---can also sub applesauce for the pumkin but reduce water to make up for the extra moisture in the applesauce versus pumpkin---try adding raisins, chopped apples ---yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We really liked this. A lot of good flavor, we froze what we didn't eat and pull it out as we think of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was awesome ! I used fresh pumpkin! And 1/2 the sugar. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States