Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made this the other night. I thought it was a little on the sweet side but my daughter loved it so much she asked me to pack it for her lunch the next day. Next time I make it I will use a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
After i started putting this recipe together, i realized i was out of brown sugar AND pumpkin pie spice. I added nutmeg to compensate and made it without the sugar. Instead, i sweetened it with stevia at the time of serving and it was delicious. My bf and I both thought this was great...like dessert for breakfast but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Love fixing steel cut oats in the crock pot/slow cooker----I have used a reicpe comparable to this which is my fave---can also sub applesauce for the pumkin but reduce water to make up for the extra moisture in the applesauce versus pumpkin---try adding raisins, chopped apples ---yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is good, but way too much cinnamon. Next time I will cut the cinnamon at least in half. Otherwise, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It was very easy to make but it turned out way too sweet for me. I used 1 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I think I should have used 1/2 cup. Also, it was very, very soupy. I prefer thicker oatmeal. Not sure I'd bother making it again, even if the recipe were modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I botched up this recipe badly. Don't do what I did: Firstly, this was too sugary (we didn't have Splenda brown sugar on hand and used raw brown sugar). My spouse and I both found that the high sugar content in our breakfast servings at 7:30am made us crash by 10am and binge on doughnuts and other sugary junk food at our respective work places. I later found Splenda brown sugar at a Canadian Superstore in the baking aisle. I also don't recommend using ED's pumpkin pie filling - I used that because that's all we had on hand. Use plain pumpkin otherwise you will over-spice like I did, since the pumpkin pie filling was already spiced. Sometimes our only purpose in life is to serve as a warning for others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was awesome ! I used fresh pumpkin! And 1/2 the sugar. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I really liked this, my hubby and kids not so much. I loved waking up in the morning and breakfast was done. I cut down the cinnamon to 1 T and only used 3/4 c brown sugar, regular not Splenda. Also I used 1 3/4 cup of Steel Cut oats and it was the perfect consistancy. I was worried when I first looked at it because it looked very soupy but once I stirred it up it was perfect. Topped it off with a sprinkling of brown sugar and some toasted walnuts. Yummy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I feel bad writing this review, because quite honestly I really did not care for this breakfast. I made it as per the instructions, but subtracted the sugar (because I didn't have sugar replacement, and I figured I'd just add my own afterwards). I woke up really excited for this breakfast, planning on eating it for the next few mornings. But, I found it to be waaaay too slimy, for a lack of a better description. I don't know if that is because of too much pumpkin, or water, or even cooking time. Unfortunately next time I think I'll just make my oats on the stove top, and add my flavorings after it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States