Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made this the other night. I thought it was a little on the sweet side but my daughter loved it so much she asked me to pack it for her lunch the next day. Next time I make it I will use a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
After i started putting this recipe together, i realized i was out of brown sugar AND pumpkin pie spice. I added nutmeg to compensate and made it without the sugar. Instead, i sweetened it with stevia at the time of serving and it was delicious. My bf and I both thought this was great...like dessert for breakfast but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Love fixing steel cut oats in the crock pot/slow cooker----I have used a reicpe comparable to this which is my fave---can also sub applesauce for the pumkin but reduce water to make up for the extra moisture in the applesauce versus pumpkin---try adding raisins, chopped apples ---yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is good, but way too much cinnamon. Next time I will cut the cinnamon at least in half. Otherwise, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It was very easy to make but it turned out way too sweet for me. I used 1 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I think I should have used 1/2 cup. Also, it was very, very soupy. I prefer thicker oatmeal. Not sure I'd bother making it again, even if the recipe were modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I botched up this recipe badly. Don't do what I did: Firstly, this was too sugary (we didn't have Splenda brown sugar on hand and used raw brown sugar). My spouse and I both found that the high sugar content in our breakfast servings at 7:30am made us crash by 10am and binge on doughnuts and other sugary junk food at our respective work places. I later found Splenda brown sugar at a Canadian Superstore in the baking aisle. I also don't recommend using ED's pumpkin pie filling - I used that because that's all we had on hand. Use plain pumpkin otherwise you will over-spice like I did, since the pumpkin pie filling was already spiced. Sometimes our only purpose in life is to serve as a warning for others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was awesome ! I used fresh pumpkin! And 1/2 the sugar. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I really liked this, my hubby and kids not so much. I loved waking up in the morning and breakfast was done. I cut down the cinnamon to 1 T and only used 3/4 c brown sugar, regular not Splenda. Also I used 1 3/4 cup of Steel Cut oats and it was the perfect consistancy. I was worried when I first looked at it because it looked very soupy but once I stirred it up it was perfect. Topped it off with a sprinkling of brown sugar and some toasted walnuts. Yummy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I feel bad writing this review, because quite honestly I really did not care for this breakfast. I made it as per the instructions, but subtracted the sugar (because I didn't have sugar replacement, and I figured I'd just add my own afterwards). I woke up really excited for this breakfast, planning on eating it for the next few mornings. But, I found it to be waaaay too slimy, for a lack of a better description. I don't know if that is because of too much pumpkin, or water, or even cooking time. Unfortunately next time I think I'll just make my oats on the stove top, and add my flavorings after it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States