Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Target didn't have steel-cut so I used 'old-fashioned' which I assume means rolled. Also, I'm poor so I didn't want to shell out for a different type of brown sugar than the regular stuff I already had. Turns out, both are necessary; I ended up with brown sugar soup in the morning, in part because of the functionality of the crockpot which is overly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was delicious, although we completed omitted the sugar. We prefer to add our own to taste! Make sure you completely cover any area where the oats will touch with the spray, though - the places you miss will be glued to the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is very good but I am Sooooo glad I read reviews first because there are so many needed changes. I did what one person stated and reduced the water to 5 Cups, increased the steel-cut oats to 1 3/4 cups and reduced the cooking time in the slow cooker to 4 hours on low. Also, it is very helpful to line your crock pot with a Reynolds brand liner especially made for crock pots. Very easy clean up!! The amount of spices are way too much so I added 1 Tablespoon of each the ground cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. This was good but you could even add a little less if you don't like it so strong on the spices. One last mention, I did not add any sugar while cooking. Would rather leave it for everyone in my family to add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
First, this makes a ton, so if you're the only one in your house who enjoys oatmeal (like me), I would recommend cutting the recipe in half. Secondly, I took the advice of the previous reviews and added 5 cups of water, as well as 1/2 a cup Splenda and 1 3/4 cup oatmeal. This turned out great. It is the perfect consistency, has a pleasing, not overpowering flavor and reheats well. Also, mine was done in 4 hours, not 6. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My family didn't care for this at all. The spices were too strong, the oats too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made the recipe as written and found the spices over powered the pumpkin. I'll try making this again because I love pumpkin, but I plan on playing with the amount of the spices so that the pumpkin flavor doesn't get lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This came out super soup-y for me. I added another 1/2 cup oatmeal in the morning to try and thicken it up which helped some. I only put in 1/2 cup of (real) brown sugar which I think was about right, and I ran out of cinnamon so I didn't put as much in. The overall flavor was pretty good, just a little too runny and mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Just made this recipe, which I love except I cut back on the brown sugar Splenda blend to 1/2 cup which was plenty sweet. Also, mine was finished after 4 hours on medium setting of my slow cooker (not a crock pot). I suggest that you make it during the day when you are able to gauge the cooking time. Like the fact that it is lo-cal and satisfying, plus pumpkin is so good for you! House smells great! Thanks for a yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Really good but it needs salt. When you bake a pumpkin pie, you add salt and that's what this needed. I think I added about a tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
It's a great recipe. I found it very tasty, but I did modify it. I thought the purée was silly, so I just chopped up a butternut squash and used a food processor (butternut squash is very similar to a pumpkin, but you can also chop up a pumpkin). I added the squash to the crock pot with the rest of ingredients. I did not add sugar because I figured I would add sugar to taste. It also gives people the option to add alternative sweeteners (if you are feeding a group of people). I'm a big fan of steel cut oats and I liked this variation to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States