Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This came out super soup-y for me. I added another 1/2 cup oatmeal in the morning to try and thicken it up which helped some. I only put in 1/2 cup of (real) brown sugar which I think was about right, and I ran out of cinnamon so I didn't put as much in. The overall flavor was pretty good, just a little too runny and mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Just made this recipe, which I love except I cut back on the brown sugar Splenda blend to 1/2 cup which was plenty sweet. Also, mine was finished after 4 hours on medium setting of my slow cooker (not a crock pot). I suggest that you make it during the day when you are able to gauge the cooking time. Like the fact that it is lo-cal and satisfying, plus pumpkin is so good for you! House smells great! Thanks for a yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Really good but it needs salt. When you bake a pumpkin pie, you add salt and that's what this needed. I think I added about a tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
It's a great recipe. I found it very tasty, but I did modify it. I thought the purée was silly, so I just chopped up a butternut squash and used a food processor (butternut squash is very similar to a pumpkin, but you can also chop up a pumpkin). I added the squash to the crock pot with the rest of ingredients. I did not add sugar because I figured I would add sugar to taste. It also gives people the option to add alternative sweeteners (if you are feeding a group of people). I'm a big fan of steel cut oats and I liked this variation to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Increased the oats per reviews and decreased cinnamon. Still was watery after all night on low. OK flavor used turbinado sugar hubby liked it. Would make again with less pumpkin. Thinking how to convert the leftovers into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Good. Used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 2 TBS maple syrup. Usually read the reviews before I make it. Would have put in less sugar - maybe 1/2 cup and 1 to 1-1/2 TBS cinnamon. Will make this again. Looks like this will make more than 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe and followed everything exactly except I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup. It came out really soupy and didn't taste anything like pumpkin to me...I will probably try this again with less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
For those of you getting mush, make sure you are using Steel Cut oats ONLY! Rolled oats wont work. Also my slow cooker tends to run hot so I put my cooker on Warm setting and leave it over night. Oats come out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this recipe on Sunday afternoon with the thought I could have a quick healthy breakfast all week long and it worked! Not only did it taste good but reheated for a single serving very well! I also used regular brown sugar. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
The flavor was okay on this, but the texture was of sludge. Prepared exactly as written, you will get a big crock of sludge. If that's how you like your oatmeal, you might dig this, but it's just not my cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States