Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My family loved this, the only thing extra I added was liquid smoke. I did not add the BBQ sauce cause we Iike putting it on ourselfs along with my homemade slaw. Will do this again!!!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Cary Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Was hesitant but WOW WAS I WRONG! Used a pork shoulder and trimmed the extra fat and connection tissue. Seasoned with salt/pepper and browned it well. I used 2 bottles of root beer and cooked on low for 10 hours. It shredded sooooo easily and the flavor was sooo good, I was surprised at the amount of the flavor imparted but not tasting like root beer. Huge hit and sooo darn easy,I won't make pulled pork any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was so good. I used a pork shoulder roast. Took it to a family BBQ and everyone loved it. I don't like root beer and was a bit hesitant because of that, but you couldn't taste the root beer. I used Sweet Baby Rays original BBQ sauce and served it on King's Hawaiian rolls. Very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Amazing! Was skeptical about the rootbeer...I used dads rootbeer brand a 1 liter bottle, I actually ended up falling asleep so it cooked for 10 hours instead of 7 and was soooo tender and juicy.. I definitely think I put too much root beer in but it was amazing!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very easy to prepare. At first I was a bit concerned about cooking with root beer. Well this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nothing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I used a combination of pork tenderloin and boneless pork loin which I had in the freezer, and diet root beer (what I had on hand). I actually liked the pork loin (which I bought on sale for $1.99/lb) better than the tenderloin. I also liked that when shredding, I didn’t have to go through the meat and discard all the fat that you have when using the typical Boston butt roast. The meat cooked perfectly at 6 hours, and its flavor was fantastic, just an interesting little bit of sweetness from the root beer. As other reviewers have mentioned, the BBQ sauce that you use will totally dominate the flavor of the pork, so at a minimum, choose one that you REALLY like. Unfortunately, I wanted that pork flavor on my sandwich, and in the future, I will not use a powerful tomato-based BBQ sauce for this recipe. I will serve the pork on its own, maybe wrapped in a lettuce leaf with some Asian garnishes, set some aside for some Mexican dishes, or try a vinegary North Carolina BBQ sauce for sandwiches. And seriously, put meat in pot, add root beer, lid on, cook for 6 hours, shred, and add sauce...come on, it just doesn’t get much easier than that. I’m not a huge crock pot fan, but this is one that I really enjoyed, and I’m not alone, with 2,833 reviews at 4.5 stars. A winner, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe several times to rave reviews. I tried it using chicken thighs for pulled chicken. It was just as good as the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I only cooked it for 6 hours before shredding and adding the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
EASY EASY and very good. Made this for friends.... not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stardust0416
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I would give this recipe 6 stars if I could. Perfect as is!!! I used sweet baby rays sweet and spicy BBQ sauce. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States