Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I used a 5 lb. pork shoulder cut, used a light rub, and 3 cans of root beer. It made my house smell sickly sweet when it was cooking. When it was done, I dumped the liquid, fork shredded it, and mixed in Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and put pack in the crock pot for another hour. It has a strangely sweet smell and after-taste, similar to cream soda..? I'm still trying to find a way to salvage it. Maybe it was because the root beer came out of a can, but I'm not going to try it again. I'll have to pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe while entertaining friends recently, I had everything on hand except root beer. Boy wasn't my boyfriend's face priceless when I told him I cooked his dinner in Dr. Pepper. me for the win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Yuck far to sweet and you can taste the root beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was great. I made it using Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce after cooking it, and what a treat this meal was. So easy to make too. Meat just ripped apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Probably the easiest thing I'll ever make. So simple, so good. Will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This really is a great easy recipe. The type of sauce you use makes the real difference. We use Dave's BBQ sauce (Devil's spit). Made for a bunco group and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My husband is a huge fan of pulled pork! He loved loved loved this! I will be making again, next time for a crowd!-JoAnna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Omg. Amazing. Only thing we did different is use a can of root beer instead of beer and a whole onion finely chopped instead of onion powder. bb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Soooooo yummy! We used a pork shoulder as others suggested and then I just took the fat off the pork after I drained the root beer and before shredding the meat. We used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce which was perfect. Then I made a vinegar based cole slaw to go inside the sandwiches using a broccoli slaw mix, some extra shredded carrots and a couple tbsp. of chopped red onions. The sauce was 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup red wine vinegar, 2 tsp. of sugar and a tbsp. and a half of poppy seed dressing. The tangy flavor was perfect with the sweet bbq sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I just made this today and it was great!! I used Pork shoulder like several other reviewers suggested, but otherwise I did this exactly as written! I used Sweet Baby Ray's original BBQ sauce, but I'm sure any BBQ sauce would have worked just fine. It was super tasty! My husband and I loved it, and we're excited for leftovers tomorrow. We'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States