Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It was edible, but it didn't taste any better than when I used water or chicken broth and the slight flavor and scent of root beer was just weird - even after I had added bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was an OK way to cook a 4 lb pork loin that I wanted to cook without turning on the oven or any fuss. I didn't think the root beer added any real flavor. I thought it was a bit dry, but with the BBQ sauce on it, the sandwiches were fine. I kept some of the meat out before adding BBQ sauce and made quesadillas the next night. I added chili powder, onion powder and cumin to the meat, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
As is, recipe is only a 3. (I have used a plain pork tenderloin before to "save" a recipe, and discovered it was not easy to shred nor as tasty as a shoulder. So I used a ~2.6 lb pork tenderloin roast, which had more fat). After following other suggestions with letting it sit in crock pot on 'keep warm' setting for an additional hour, which ended up being 1½ since had errands to run, it raised review a point. I used Sweet Baby Rays Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce which is my favorite- but that still was inadequate. Once I added approximately 1 to 1½ tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, it finally had that special punch to it, and became a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I really wanted this to be great because it was SO easy, but it was disappointing. The root beer really didn't give the pork any flavor at all. I've had much better results with a rub or marinade. I guess if you pour enough BBQ sauce, salt, hot sauce, cole slaw, etc etc on any pork roast it can be good, but didn't think this was a great base recipe in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZING!! I BOUGHT A CASE OF A&W ROOT BEER AND POURED TWO 12 OUNCE CANS OVER THE PORK. I BOUGHT PORK TENDERLOINS FROM WALMART. IT WAS A LITTLE OVER 3 POUNDS TOGETHER (CAME IN A PACKAGE OF TWO). I WAS LATE GETTING HOME, SO THE PORK WAS ACTUALLY ON LOW FOR 10 HOURS!!! I DID COME HOME FROM RUNNING ERRANDS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY AT WHICH POINT I TURNED THE PORK OVER AND POURED JUICES ON IT. I CUT UP A LARGE WHITE ONION IN SMALL PIECES AND POURED IT INTO THE CROCKPOT IN THE MORNING WHEN I PUT THE PORK IN THE CROCKPOT. THE WHITE ONION WAS SWEET AND DELICIOUS WITH THE PORK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Great base to add any type of BBQ sauce to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We made this on a busy night, with Sweet Baby Rays Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce, and my family devoured it! Even my picky eater! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The Root beer does amazing things with this pulled pork! We couldn't get enough it was delicious! I used Diana's Chicken & Rib bbq sauce because that was all I had on hand. We served it on bakery fresh buns and topped with coleslaw. It will defiantly be a regular on the menu at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Listen up folks, this is it! I read some of the helpful reviews and this was my first time making this. I didn't add any seasoning or sear the meat or put any rub on it. Just a bottle of a&aw rootbeer and a 7lb pork shoulder instead of tenderloin (gotta lot of mouths to feed 'round here and tenderloin is expensive) but recipe is easy and spot on. Mine went in my Dutch oven cause I couldn't shove that big ol' swine in my crockpot! 325 for 4 hours in the oven and that was all that piggy said! I will definitely be adding this to the permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My picky eaters gobbled this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States