Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I'm more of a Carolina bbq kind of guy, but the women in the family loved this due to the sweetness I assume. I used the pork tenderloin in an effort to cut out unnecessary fat. yes, not as good as using a Boston butt, but really not bad at all. I cooked about 4 lbs of it. Rubbed with cracked peppercorn, sea salt, and granulated garlic. Covered with 2 liters of A&W (the only major brand of root beer worth anything). Added a few table spoons of hickory liquid smoke. cooked on low for 8 hours, reduced to warm for 4 hours. drained, pulled, and sauced with sweet baby rays hickory and brown sugar bbq sauce, added a couple more tablespoons of liquid smoke and cooked on high for about a half hour. served on buns and topped with cole slaw. Pretty tasty. The liquid smoke is a must. Next time I'll use a bbq sauce that isn't quite as sweet. My wife and 3 year old daughter liked this so much that I'm sure we will make it regularly (assuming we don't get sick of it after eating leftovers for 4 or 5 days). I may try freezing some leftovers, if so I'll update this and let you know how it tasted after freezing. I freeze Carolina bbq all the time, I assume this will freeze ok too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Used pork butt instead of tenderloin and i pull the pork an hour before its finished and add Sweet Baby Rays sauce to let it soak up the flavor for a little while. Everyone who's tried these has come back for seconds (and thirds!). Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Made exactly as instructed; came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Anyone who says you can't make this with tenderloin is crazy, I used 3 x 2lb loins, poked holes in them and sprinkled with pepper and garlic salt, laid them in the bottom of my slow cooker and poured over one bottle of root beer. 6 hours later we had beautiful pulled pork that just fell apart. I mixed with a little BBQ sauce and it was heavenly! Will Def make again, big hit with my family and guests (4 adults and 4 children) so will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I really liked this recipe, very simple and easy to follow. I sliced an onion and added that at the very beginning, then drained the liquids out but kept the onions in. The onions were a great flavor add and a nice change in texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Masopust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This is the first time making pulled pork. I took a suggestion from a friend who is a butcher to use shoulder pork to make this. Since I was making it for a party, I purchased 8 pounds of sliced pulled pork which ended costing $2.49 per lb. I used a full bottle of Freddy's root beer, 26 oz bottle and it barely covered the pork. Cooked it slow for 5 hours and it then turned it up to high the last 1 1/2 hours since I was running short on time. Drained the juices and shredded the pork with 2 forks. It took a while since some of the pork wasn't as tender. Then placed it back in the crock pot and pour a full big bottle of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce. Cooked it on high for another hour. I had rave reviews and said to make it again at my next party. You couldn't taste the root beer at all. I estimated about 1/2 lb per person since I had 14 over and had about 1 lb left over. The only thing I would do different next time is not to use a crock pot liner since it seemed to take longer to cook things. But great recipe. I guess I need to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Wow! I didn't change anything, this recipe is mouth-watering delicious!! Everyone at my party raved about it. Served it on Hawaiian sweet rolls like little sliders. Yummmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe was very easy and even better tasting! My family loved it. We will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
So easy I was looking for something easy for a family reunion this was it and allowed me lots of visiting time. I used parchment paper as a liner[ I have had bags melt in the roaster pan] turkey baking bags for the pork this made It so easy to cook and once I took the pork out the liquid was easy to dispose of.{ I don't like to pour fat down the pluming as it ends up causing problems later] Thakyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Strong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States