Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I am not a big pulled pork lover, but my family really liked it. I had to add another bottle of sauce though because I let it set for awhile and it dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made it for family's easter pot luck and everyone loved it. By far best bbq pulled prok recipe I ever ate and so easy!! Made with a 7lb pork shoulder roast and filled crock pot with root beer. I was skeptical of only using root beer as flavoring since I tend to use my whole spice shelf when cooking, but it is so yummy and not lacking in flavor. I cooked it overnight, drained, and shredded it. Put back in crockpot and added bbq sauce with a little water and cooked for another hour or so. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Have made this different times with cherry coke, regular coke and root beer. Always turns out great. I used Famous Dave's Devil's Spit bbq sauce as we like it hot. Last time I used 3 pork loin filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was so simple and tasted excellent!!! I soaked the meat over night in the root beer and added sauce to taste. My picky kids gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I picked this recipe and decided to give root beer a try given the almost 3000 reviews and almost 5 full star ratings. I didn't read all the reviews, but I read a lot of them and they all raved about the root beer. So, I did this. It was edible, but it didn't taste any better than when I used water or chicken broth and the slight flavor and scent of root beer was just weird - even after I had added bbq sauce. Skip this recipe. Use a good traditional rub or chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was an OK way to cook a 4 lb pork loin that I wanted to cook without turning on the oven or any fuss. I didn't think the root beer added any real flavor. I thought it was a bit dry, but with the BBQ sauce on it, the sandwiches were fine. I kept some of the meat out before adding BBQ sauce and made quesadillas the next night. I added chili powder, onion powder and cumin to the meat, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
As is, recipe is only a 3. (I have used a plain pork tenderloin before to "save" a recipe, and discovered it was not easy to shred nor as tasty as a shoulder. So I used a ~2.6 lb pork tenderloin roast, which had more fat). After following other suggestions with letting it sit in crock pot on 'keep warm' setting for an additional hour, which ended up being 1½ since had errands to run, it raised review a point. I used Sweet Baby Rays Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce which is my favorite- but that still was inadequate. Once I added approximately 1 to 1½ tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, it finally had that special punch to it, and became a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I really wanted this to be great because it was SO easy, but it was disappointing. The root beer really didn't give the pork any flavor at all. I've had much better results with a rub or marinade. I guess if you pour enough BBQ sauce, salt, hot sauce, cole slaw, etc etc on any pork roast it can be good, but didn't think this was a great base recipe in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZING!! I BOUGHT A CASE OF A&W ROOT BEER AND POURED TWO 12 OUNCE CANS OVER THE PORK. I BOUGHT PORK TENDERLOINS FROM WALMART. IT WAS A LITTLE OVER 3 POUNDS TOGETHER (CAME IN A PACKAGE OF TWO). I WAS LATE GETTING HOME, SO THE PORK WAS ACTUALLY ON LOW FOR 10 HOURS!!! I DID COME HOME FROM RUNNING ERRANDS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY AT WHICH POINT I TURNED THE PORK OVER AND POURED JUICES ON IT. I CUT UP A LARGE WHITE ONION IN SMALL PIECES AND POURED IT INTO THE CROCKPOT IN THE MORNING WHEN I PUT THE PORK IN THE CROCKPOT. THE WHITE ONION WAS SWEET AND DELICIOUS WITH THE PORK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Great base to add any type of BBQ sauce to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States