Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I had to improvise a bit because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used a dried guajillo pepper and some ground ancho and chipotle powder. I also used only white hominy and all pork. But the basic recipe is one that can be modified with delicious results. My version may not be authentic, but it sure tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
this dish is wonderful.this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very good basic recipe. Pozole is eaten with shredded cabage, diced onions, lime, sliced radishes, and sometimes cilantro or oregano sprinkled on top and tortillas rolled up in the palm of your hand to dip in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome Pozole! I made this for a new years party and it all was gone before midnight. It made me feel I was back home in Mexico. Insted of using canned chicken broth, I made my own broth. I did not add the diced green chiles and it still came out wonderful. My husdand loved the Pozole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This recipe is very good and can feed a lot of people. I used pork shoulder roast and I left out the chicken. I also added one can of Red Chile Colorado sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
5 stars because I love the spicing! My boyfriend made a great batch on New Year Day and served 8. He used 2.5 lbs of cubed pork loin and no chicken (he said he's never seen chicken in Pozole!). He added two sliced pickled serrano peppers and a 2nd can of beef broth. He added a smidge more of the oregano and garlic too. In Mexico City, the Pozole was much SPICIER. There, you dipped a salty tortilla chip in unsweetened whipped cream to cool off your tongue. This is great on any table with spicy Mexican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used a whole pork shoulder for my Pozole and all white hominy. I added carrots and black beans just for more substance. Also, it's great if you top with Cotija cheese if you can get it. Put crumbled tortilla chips, sour cream, and lettuce on top for an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Albright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made Pozole, it was really good. I put both pork and beef in mine. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a very good soup.I made it like the recipe except for the peppers. I left out the green chile and added two chipote peppers. This makes it a little hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a very good recipe, a bit different tasting than other Pozole Soups that I have had, but tasty none the less. I cannot figure out why some change the ingredients, and then say something is missing or that it doesn't taste like what they know and give it a less than fair rating. Each recipe is what it is, and should be rated as such, then play with the ingredients if you wish. This is a great tasting recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States