Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Basically very good, however I also felt that there was something missing. I added 2 very finely chopped chipotles and feel that the taste improved. Comparing it to a cookbook of very traditional Mexican recipes I noticed that it is more authentic to use dried ancho and guajillo chiles, all pork (pig head or hooves to be exact) and no cumin....but really there are as many ways to make a good pozole as there are cooks in Mexico! To avoid kind of tough chile skins in you soup, strain the blended chile & chicken broth into the soup pot. Thanks for the recipe! It is traditional to have Pozole on New Year's Day so enjoy this great soup and..Feliz Ano Nuevo to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very good basic recipe. Pozole is eaten with shredded cabage, diced onions, lime, sliced radishes, and sometimes cilantro or oregano sprinkled on top and tortillas rolled up in the palm of your hand to dip in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
In mexico (i'm mexican) people eat pozole in diferent ways depending where you live, but this recipe is not pozole is more like a soup and is missing all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This recipe is very good and can feed a lot of people. I used pork shoulder roast and I left out the chicken. I also added one can of Red Chile Colorado sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Cheryl B stole my thunder..... I signed up just to leave a comment about how lame everyone is that changes the recipe and then rate it badly ("I couldn't find hominy at my local store" or "I've never heard of chicken in pozole before"......really?!). There are many different pozole recipes and the taste varies greatly. I was looking not for a "traditional" recipe, but for one that did not require a 2 part cooking process and could cook unattended. To that end I found a very good base recipe. Will I make changes? Absolutely, but only because of my personal taste and will not penalize the author of this recipe with a bad rating. For everyone that finds that this recipe is, "missing something" that they, "can't figure out".....it's probably the marrow flavor that you're missing because this is a boneless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good! There was something missing in the recipe that I just couldn't figure out, but we really enjoyed this dish. We added some roasted jalapenos and anaheim chilies into the blender to give it a little more spice. We used chicken breast only, white hominy only and reduced salt broths (salt to taste at the dinner table). Poured the pozole over mexican rice in a bowl and ate with corn tortillas - YUM! Not greasy at all. Will definitely make again with a few more tweaks. Couldn’t give this 5 stars since we altered the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I liked this pozole. Although I do prefer red chiles. Someone said this was like a soup. That would be because it IS a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This recipe was great after I added and deleted some ingredients. It is so easy since it is done in a crockpot. Instead of the chile negro, I used a small can of chili colorado sauce. Instead of chicken, I used all pork (1 1/2 lbs. boneless country ribs). I only used ONE tablespoon of cumin and didn't add the green chili's. I also added more hominy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used a whole pork shoulder for my Pozole and all white hominy. I added carrots and black beans just for more substance. Also, it's great if you top with Cotija cheese if you can get it. Put crumbled tortilla chips, sour cream, and lettuce on top for an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Albright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good crock pot recipe. I made a few changes as well such as lessening the cumin and instead of dicing up 2 onions which seemed like a lot, I quartered the onions and removed before serving. I used a pasilla chili but will use guajillo next time for a bit more kick. I also added some ground up de arbol chilis in my serving bowl for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States