Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This recipe is very good and can feed a lot of people. I used pork shoulder roast and I left out the chicken. I also added one can of Red Chile Colorado sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Better with red chilis instead of green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
When do you add the beef broth? I just put it in with all the other ingredients. I just put it in the cockpot, so I haven't had a chance to try it yer. I gave it four stars, just because it smells so good preparing it. Here's hoping for the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
this dish is wonderful.this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This recipe was greasy and more like a soup. I had great difficulty finding the correct peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Sorry, didn't like the recipe. Something was missing in it and I don't know what! Not a Mexican type Pozole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This recipe was great after I added and deleted some ingredients. It is so easy since it is done in a crockpot. Instead of the chile negro, I used a small can of chili colorado sauce. Instead of chicken, I used all pork (1 1/2 lbs. boneless country ribs). I only used ONE tablespoon of cumin and didn't add the green chili's. I also added more hominy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
just didn't have that "authentic" taste i was looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good! There was something missing in the recipe that I just couldn't figure out, but we really enjoyed this dish. We added some roasted jalapenos and anaheim chilies into the blender to give it a little more spice. We used chicken breast only, white hominy only and reduced salt broths (salt to taste at the dinner table). Poured the pozole over mexican rice in a bowl and ate with corn tortillas - YUM! Not greasy at all. Will definitely make again with a few more tweaks. Couldn’t give this 5 stars since we altered the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Basically very good, however I also felt that there was something missing. I added 2 very finely chopped chipotles and feel that the taste improved. Comparing it to a cookbook of very traditional Mexican recipes I noticed that it is more authentic to use dried ancho and guajillo chiles, all pork (pig head or hooves to be exact) and no cumin....but really there are as many ways to make a good pozole as there are cooks in Mexico! To avoid kind of tough chile skins in you soup, strain the blended chile & chicken broth into the soup pot. Thanks for the recipe! It is traditional to have Pozole on New Year's Day so enjoy this great soup and..Feliz Ano Nuevo to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States