Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used a whole pork shoulder for my Pozole and all white hominy. I added carrots and black beans just for more substance. Also, it's great if you top with Cotija cheese if you can get it. Put crumbled tortilla chips, sour cream, and lettuce on top for an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Albright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good crock pot recipe. I made a few changes as well such as lessening the cumin and instead of dicing up 2 onions which seemed like a lot, I quartered the onions and removed before serving. I used a pasilla chili but will use guajillo next time for a bit more kick. I also added some ground up de arbol chilis in my serving bowl for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I had to improvise a bit because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used a dried guajillo pepper and some ground ancho and chipotle powder. I also used only white hominy and all pork. But the basic recipe is one that can be modified with delicious results. My version may not be authentic, but it sure tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Basically very good, however I also felt that there was something missing. I added 2 very finely chopped chipotles and feel that the taste improved. Comparing it to a cookbook of very traditional Mexican recipes I noticed that it is more authentic to use dried ancho and guajillo chiles, all pork (pig head or hooves to be exact) and no cumin....but really there are as many ways to make a good pozole as there are cooks in Mexico! To avoid kind of tough chile skins in you soup, strain the blended chile & chicken broth into the soup pot. Thanks for the recipe! It is traditional to have Pozole on New Year's Day so enjoy this great soup and..Feliz Ano Nuevo to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good! There was something missing in the recipe that I just couldn't figure out, but we really enjoyed this dish. We added some roasted jalapenos and anaheim chilies into the blender to give it a little more spice. We used chicken breast only, white hominy only and reduced salt broths (salt to taste at the dinner table). Poured the pozole over mexican rice in a bowl and ate with corn tortillas - YUM! Not greasy at all. Will definitely make again with a few more tweaks. Couldn’t give this 5 stars since we altered the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
just didn't have that "authentic" taste i was looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This recipe was great after I added and deleted some ingredients. It is so easy since it is done in a crockpot. Instead of the chile negro, I used a small can of chili colorado sauce. Instead of chicken, I used all pork (1 1/2 lbs. boneless country ribs). I only used ONE tablespoon of cumin and didn't add the green chili's. I also added more hominy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Sorry, didn't like the recipe. Something was missing in it and I don't know what! Not a Mexican type Pozole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This recipe was greasy and more like a soup. I had great difficulty finding the correct peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
this dish is wonderful.this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States