Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My husband LOVES Pozole, and he liked this recipe. For our tastes, the next time I make it, I'll cut the meat in half, double the hominy, and maybe add a bit more broth to make it even more "soup-y"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
i pretty much followed the recipe and it came out excellent..we added some chipotle peppers and it had a hint of sweet then it got spicy.....we had some tostada shells with miracle and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
In mexico (i'm mexican) people eat pozole in diferent ways depending where you live, but this recipe is not pozole is more like a soup and is missing all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Yep, this does make the house smell great! Just be cautioned that it needs salt. Also, I had to buy this huge bag of peppers, and they seemed to be rather small even when hydrated. I put in three rather than one. Also some white wine, just because. Drop in some fried pork skins before eating. They make a great snap-crackle-pop sound!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
We lived in New Mexico for 6 years and this recipe is the closest we have tasted to the pozole we ate there for New Years! Wonderful dish!!!Great and easy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this new years day and it was soooo good! I used all chicken, and i couldn't get the chili's in time, so i used about 14oz can of red enchilada sauce. everything else i pretty much followed the recipe, except i used hot diced chilis and it was so spicy i had to add more broth (because we had kids eating too). We served with diced avocado, cheese, crushed corn chips and sour creme on top to cut the heat. we also had all the fixings suggested. everyone loved it, even the kids!! and this recipe went a long way. Im making this over and over again! **update** made again, with all pork tenderloin. used a can of chile colorado sauce instead of grinding chilis, added more garlic, fresh & ground, cumin & mexican oregano. Again a huge hit w/ the crowd! made enough for a med/lrg bowl for 12 people. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is one of the most satisfying soups I've ever made. I asked a couple of dear hispanic ladies I know at our local farmer's market how they made it, and got a couple of different versions. The result was that I added a some chopped cabbage, corn, and some processed tomatillos. Also took another reader's suggestion and ran the ancho chile with some broth through a food processer & strained it. A little labor intensive, but, well worth the effort. Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really, good..Needed a bit more spice for my family. I also added a tablespoon of tapioca to slightly thicken the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
fair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Cheryl B stole my thunder..... I signed up just to leave a comment about how lame everyone is that changes the recipe and then rate it badly ("I couldn't find hominy at my local store" or "I've never heard of chicken in pozole before"......really?!). There are many different pozole recipes and the taste varies greatly. I was looking not for a "traditional" recipe, but for one that did not require a 2 part cooking process and could cook unattended. To that end I found a very good base recipe. Will I make changes? Absolutely, but only because of my personal taste and will not penalize the author of this recipe with a bad rating. For everyone that finds that this recipe is, "missing something" that they, "can't figure out".....it's probably the marrow flavor that you're missing because this is a boneless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States