Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Why do you give me recipes for 5 - 6 quart slow cookers when I asked for 2 Qt slow cooker recipes? I only have a "2" quart slow cooker??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Super easy to make...this was my first try making Pozole, the Family loved it and needless to say nothing was left after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this recipe for my ex's family. They are from Mexico and they LOVED it. Especially the boys, they went back for seconds. It was so easy to make, especially with the crockpot, I could just leave it cook and finish other things around the house. Just make sure you get Mexican oregano, it has a totally different flavor than the typical oregano. Top it with shredded lettuce, red onion, lime juice and dried red peppers(chile piquen) if you dare. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was a homerun recipe! Substituted a can of red enchilada sauce for the dried chile/broth combo. Added a small can of salsa verde instead of the chopped chiles. I used all drumsticks (about 5 or 6) and I put them in frozen. Cooked it on 6 hours high and the meat fell right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
When a you makea a pozole use a some of a sweet yellow or white corn- cut the cob into 4 chunks and a toss it in the pot 1half hour before you are a ready to eata- ok-a ok !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe was a hit!!! I had never made pozole before this & am not a big fan of pozole but my husband is Hispanic and it is his favorite meal so I decided to try it out for him..... He loved it and even said it was better than his mom's recipe (shh, don't tell!) & my husband never raves about my cooking!! I did everything that this recipe calls for, I think I added a bit less cumin as suggested in other reviews & used all white hominy but that's it, Next time I make it I might put a bit more broth though. I would also like to add that you must put out all the traditional toppings so that everyone can add their own final touch.... Cilantro, limes, cabbage, diced onions, & dried oregano. I will definitely make this recipe over & over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I added a little extra water, and used only chicken but the recipe was pretty great for a slow cooker pozole! And to the "this is more like a soup" comment.... that would be because pozole IS a soup!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xlucyferx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent pozole! Very easy to make. It's important to serve with cabbage, limes and cilantro. Corn torillas, radishes and avocado optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have made this several times now, with and without the slow cooker. The soup is yummy just as it is written without any changes. However it adapts to well to vast amounts of personal changes accounting for personal taste or whatever you happen to have on hand. For example, last night I made it with these changes. Instead of pork tenderloin, I browned up 1 lbs of breakfast sausage with onions and drained the grease. I pressured cooked a couple of chicken breasts and used the broth and the meat from those. Then I added chopped jalapeno peppers from the jar because I was out of chili’s. I added some of the liquid from the jar to give it more of a kick, I added both kinds of hominy but also added a can of chick peas just because I love chick peas. Then I added some fresh sliced carrots and left over steamed potatoes and served it to company. They LOVED it. It made a tasty hearty soup got rave reviews again and I gave out this recipe with the same advice I am giving here. Try this recipe, it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Did anyone notice the can of beef broth mentioned in the ingredients list, but forgotten in the directions? I'm curious of those who reviewed this recipe how many added the beef broth. Since we're missing boiled bones the beef broth might help with some flavor. I was hoping to find some direction before I make mine but will proceed with beef broth. Thanks for a pozole recipe that a white girl like me can tackle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States