Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good basic recipe-have to add spices accding to your tastes..2nd time making recipe, I added a can of Cream of Chicken soup at the beginning, and also diced onions. Spices used: Old Bay, Garlic salt, reg. salt, garlic powder, white pepper, dill weed, 2 bay leaves, Cavender's seasoning. Very very good with 'real' bacon bits & shredded cheddar added too. Top w/sour cream & more cheese if you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I like potato soup but I really didn't care for this one. It was easy to prepare, thinkened up real nice but it just didn't have any flavor. Salt and pepper helped a bit, but it needs something more in my opinion. If you like plain tasting soup this will work for you if you don't keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This soup was good. When I printed the recipe it called for eight pounds of potatoes so I made much more than called for. I think it should have read eight cups?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I opted for vegetable bouillon instead of chicken and olive oil instead of butter. Salt and pepper and garlic to taste. The soup was wonderful and hearty. It was almost a garlic baked potato soup and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Simple and good recipe. My pickiest child loved it. I will use this recipe again. Also, I did use 8 cups instead of 8lbs potato. I also added some velveeta to it about a half hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I added a few dashes of Mrs. Dash's Onion and Herb Powder when preparing the soup and a few more dashes about an hour b4 i served the soup. I put bacon bits, scallions and some cheddar on the side for folks to garnish the soup. Huge hit at the office food day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Yummy! I added two carrots sliced up and used Knorr Leek soup mix instead of the other seasonings. For sure the 8 POUNDS of potatoes has to be a typo; I used 8 potatoes. Before adding the milk (I cut it down to 1 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of flour) I scooped out the carrots, then mashed the potato soup mixture; then put the carrots back in, added the milk and flour. Topped with cheddar cheese and served! Great! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This was a real life saver when my family and I got snowed in for 2 days. I added a little bit of cooked bacon and "squeeze" cheese the second time I made it and it made a terrific recipe just that much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I love this potato soup i made it today for the first time ever making potato soup!! i added a couple things to it, black pepper, salt, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon!! it was so good!! my husband doesn't eat soup but he did today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Potatoes didn't soften into a creamy soup after cooking as directed, so then I cooked another 6 hrs on high. Very bland even when I added cheese and too starchy--not at all what I expected from potato soup! Keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States