Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
sorry no flavor (even after adding some) just not impressed....but will try againa soon and add some things :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I give this a 5 because my husband enjoyed it so much. I would give it a 4 for the amount of potatoes it calls for and the preparation time. I, too, as others mentioned, believe it should be 8 cups, not 8 lbs. Thankfully I used the 8 cups. And, there's no way this can be prepped in 10 minutes. I think I spent over 30 minutes prepping this. Guess I'm not the fastest potato/onion peeler, chopper in the kitchen. And, this makes a lot! I used a 5 quart crock pot and it nearly filled it to capacity. I also had ham on hand and chopped up about 2 cups worth to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Boyfriend loved it I was kinda meh on it. But he's the main soup eater so I trust his judgment. It needed extra spices of course and some turkey bacon for good measure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was super easy to make (I left the skins on the potatos to cut down on prep time and increase nutrition) and my picky husband loved it! I used olive oil instead of butter, and just added milk to taste at the end. I found that if you don't add as much milk, you get a very creamy mashed potato dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A bit bland but a good recipe. I made some alteration to it though. Instead of 8 pounds of potatoes, I used 8 cups. Instead of bullion cubes I used 2 cups of broth and a cup of water. I didn't use any flour or milk, I used a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added 2 tbls of dried italian herbs and 2 tbls of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was okay, defnitely for someone who likes a more bland type of soup. I will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
good, but needs salt and maybe garlic and probably the 8 lbs. of potatoes is incorrect. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I did add some celery, and before serving I added to eat bowl some shredded sharp cheddar and fresh bacon pieces. We also had to add quite a bit of salt to taste, but I did use low sodium bouillon, so that may be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was on my list of soups to learn to make!! Very pleased with it and the outcome. I used a can of chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and garlic salt. Prior to adding the milk and flour mixture I warmed it up in a seperate bowl, so I wouldn't be adding cold milk into a hot crock pot. This reduces the chances of curdling(?) with the milk. I serve with sour cream, shredded cheese and bacon crumbled on top. I also serve it in a sour dough bread bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States