Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of water to give more flavor. I also cooked up some bacon and added 1/2 to the soup while it was cooking and the rest on top when serving. I used fresh minced garlic and diced onion sauteed them first before adding to bring out the flovors. Spiced it up with black pepper, salt, bay leafs. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Maybe it was my fault, (I did follow the recipe exactly) but I thought this soup was incredibly bland. I was looking forward to it ALL day while at work, and my husband and I were both disappointed in the lack of flavor. I added garlic salt and a few other seasonings to try to help, but it also never thickened properly. I would not recommend this soup, but it might be good by adding ham or something flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
---Oh, use about 8 cups potatos---- This is a good recipe and simple to follow. I did add 2 small cloves of roasted garlic, some diced carrots, and finely chopped spinach, plus salt and pepper to taste. * To roast garlic: Chop the very top off the garlic and wrap in foil. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes. Allow to cool and squeeze out the roasted garlic then mix into soup.***** UPDATE***** I have made this soup several times and I use homemade chicken stock (one- frozen in a small fruit cup) insted of bouillon cubes. I add 4 cloves grated garlic, salt/pepper and onion powder to taste, some finely grated carrots(also pe-shredded and kept in freezer). Once it is finished cooking, I will use the immersion blender and blend up a little of the soup, this makes it thicker(you could blend all, for a smooth soup). Tastes great and way less fat than many other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very bland. I followed the recipe as written for the seasonings & reduced the amount of potatoes. I had to add more seasonings at the end, and it was still blah. We ate it with sour cream & cheddar cheese to add some flavor. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
We got a cold snap in Florida, so I prepared this soup and it hit the spot! My uncle loved it! Next time i will add thyme. I did add corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I love this potato soup i made it today for the first time ever making potato soup!! i added a couple things to it, black pepper, salt, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon!! it was so good!! my husband doesn't eat soup but he did today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My family was not overly thrilled with this potato soup recipe. I agree with several other reviews that said it needed something more. I tried adding some more seasonings, but it seemed very blah. We ate our soup with cheddar cheese and bacon. If we didn't have the bacon and cheese we would have been very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This soup was quite good. I did add more vegetables to get better flavor than just onion and potato. I used carrots and celery as well. I used garlic salt and chicken boiullon. I also used soy milk instead of regular cow's milk because my daughter and I cannot have dairy. It was delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe was ok, but a bit bland. S n p halped, as did a bit of bacon, sauteed and added in with the drippings. Also, It is 8 CUPS, not 8 POUNDS!!! tHAT WOULD BE A MIGHTY SLOW COOKER INDEED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought this recipe was excellent! I added a little velveeta cheese, and just a touch of cayenne pepper, and it was delicious. My hubby really liked it, and he isn't a big soup fan! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Citrus Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States