Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is nice since you can leave it cooking all day but I missed the butter and or cream I am used to in a cream soup. Definitely use 8 cups of potatoes as reviewers recommend and add plenty of salt, pepper, and desired seasonings to taste. I used fresh parsley and plenty of garlic herb seasoning. I topped the leftovers with a dollop of sour cream which helped give it a richer flavor. This would be good for those who are counting their calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe and it worked ok, but I made several changes... first, I used 3 lbs of new organic potatoes and kept them unpeeled... second, I added another onion and could have added one more, actually.... third, I added 2 cups of chopped broccoli and kale (finely chopped) from my garden... fourth, I added 2 TBL pepper and 2 TBL coarse kosher salt. All the other ingredients I kept at the same measurements. I cooked it all for six hours on HIGH. When it was time for the white sauce, I browned the flour in butter and cooked it with the milk on the stove before adding it to the crock. End result?? Delicious!! Kids wouldn't touch it, but I loved it, and most any adult would probably agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
If you like you potatoes soft, than cook the length suggested. This is recipe that you will need to add your own spices otherwise bland. A wonderful basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe pretty strictly, and this was very bland. We had lots of leftovers for our family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a good basic potato soup recipe, however I think if it were made as directed it would be pretty bland as other posters have said. I used 8 cups of potatoes instead of pounds and put salt and garlic powder on the potatoes before adding in the onion. I also added some crispy crumbled bacon and just a little bit of the bacon grease that I had sauteed a little minced garlic in. I added 1 can of Cream of Chicken soup also and put about 3/4 Cup of flour, it wasn't as thick as I would have liked so I added a little instant potato flakes to thicken it up a bit and once I got it into my bowl I added a little crumbled bacon on top and some shredded mild cheddar cheese. Even though I salted the potatoes before starting the slow cooker, I still needed some salt and pepper in my bowl, so I would add some at the end or just add some to your bowl per your taste. Overall it was a delicious soup! Add some saltines on the side and it's great also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is an excellent basic soup! On it's own it tends to be a little bland but since it's so basic it allows you to really make it your own! I added a lot of spices (dill, rosemary, and potato seasoning) plus crumbled bacon to mine and it turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this on the stove, rather than in the crock pot, and added bacon and cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasley02

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a good basic recipe but even with the addition of a lot of spices it was a little bland. Next time I might cook some cubed ham and add it to the soup for salt and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The texture is perfect but it is very bland. Definitely needed salt and was much better with garlic or cheddar cheese added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of water to give more flavor. I also cooked up some bacon and added 1/2 to the soup while it was cooking and the rest on top when serving. I used fresh minced garlic and diced onion sauteed them first before adding to bring out the flovors. Spiced it up with black pepper, salt, bay leafs. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States