Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good basic recipe-have to add spices accding to your tastes..2nd time making recipe, I added a can of Cream of Chicken soup at the beginning, and also diced onions. Spices used: Old Bay, Garlic salt, reg. salt, garlic powder, white pepper, dill weed, 2 bay leaves, Cavender's seasoning. Very very good with 'real' bacon bits & shredded cheddar added too. Top w/sour cream & more cheese if you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I like potato soup but I really didn't care for this one. It was easy to prepare, thinkened up real nice but it just didn't have any flavor. Salt and pepper helped a bit, but it needs something more in my opinion. If you like plain tasting soup this will work for you if you don't keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This soup was good. When I printed the recipe it called for eight pounds of potatoes so I made much more than called for. I think it should have read eight cups?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I opted for vegetable bouillon instead of chicken and olive oil instead of butter. Salt and pepper and garlic to taste. The soup was wonderful and hearty. It was almost a garlic baked potato soup and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Simple and good recipe. My pickiest child loved it. I will use this recipe again. Also, I did use 8 cups instead of 8lbs potato. I also added some velveeta to it about a half hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I added a few dashes of Mrs. Dash's Onion and Herb Powder when preparing the soup and a few more dashes about an hour b4 i served the soup. I put bacon bits, scallions and some cheddar on the side for folks to garnish the soup. Huge hit at the office food day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Yummy! I added two carrots sliced up and used Knorr Leek soup mix instead of the other seasonings. For sure the 8 POUNDS of potatoes has to be a typo; I used 8 potatoes. Before adding the milk (I cut it down to 1 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of flour) I scooped out the carrots, then mashed the potato soup mixture; then put the carrots back in, added the milk and flour. Topped with cheddar cheese and served! Great! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This was a real life saver when my family and I got snowed in for 2 days. I added a little bit of cooked bacon and "squeeze" cheese the second time I made it and it made a terrific recipe just that much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I love this potato soup i made it today for the first time ever making potato soup!! i added a couple things to it, black pepper, salt, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon!! it was so good!! my husband doesn't eat soup but he did today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Potatoes didn't soften into a creamy soup after cooking as directed, so then I cooked another 6 hrs on high. Very bland even when I added cheese and too starchy--not at all what I expected from potato soup! Keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States