Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
sorry no flavor (even after adding some) just not impressed....but will try againa soon and add some things :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I give this a 5 because my husband enjoyed it so much. I would give it a 4 for the amount of potatoes it calls for and the preparation time. I, too, as others mentioned, believe it should be 8 cups, not 8 lbs. Thankfully I used the 8 cups. And, there's no way this can be prepped in 10 minutes. I think I spent over 30 minutes prepping this. Guess I'm not the fastest potato/onion peeler, chopper in the kitchen. And, this makes a lot! I used a 5 quart crock pot and it nearly filled it to capacity. I also had ham on hand and chopped up about 2 cups worth to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Boyfriend loved it I was kinda meh on it. But he's the main soup eater so I trust his judgment. It needed extra spices of course and some turkey bacon for good measure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was super easy to make (I left the skins on the potatos to cut down on prep time and increase nutrition) and my picky husband loved it! I used olive oil instead of butter, and just added milk to taste at the end. I found that if you don't add as much milk, you get a very creamy mashed potato dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A bit bland but a good recipe. I made some alteration to it though. Instead of 8 pounds of potatoes, I used 8 cups. Instead of bullion cubes I used 2 cups of broth and a cup of water. I didn't use any flour or milk, I used a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added 2 tbls of dried italian herbs and 2 tbls of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was okay, defnitely for someone who likes a more bland type of soup. I will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
good, but needs salt and maybe garlic and probably the 8 lbs. of potatoes is incorrect. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I did add some celery, and before serving I added to eat bowl some shredded sharp cheddar and fresh bacon pieces. We also had to add quite a bit of salt to taste, but I did use low sodium bouillon, so that may be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was on my list of soups to learn to make!! Very pleased with it and the outcome. I used a can of chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and garlic salt. Prior to adding the milk and flour mixture I warmed it up in a seperate bowl, so I wouldn't be adding cold milk into a hot crock pot. This reduces the chances of curdling(?) with the milk. I serve with sour cream, shredded cheese and bacon crumbled on top. I also serve it in a sour dough bread bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States