Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe - but cooked this with a ham bone (left some meat on it and thawed it.) and cut the meat off the bone just before I added the thickening - not too rich and IT WAS GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is nice since you can leave it cooking all day but I missed the butter and or cream I am used to in a cream soup. Definitely use 8 cups of potatoes as reviewers recommend and add plenty of salt, pepper, and desired seasonings to taste. I used fresh parsley and plenty of garlic herb seasoning. I topped the leftovers with a dollop of sour cream which helped give it a richer flavor. This would be good for those who are counting their calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe and it worked ok, but I made several changes... first, I used 3 lbs of new organic potatoes and kept them unpeeled... second, I added another onion and could have added one more, actually.... third, I added 2 cups of chopped broccoli and kale (finely chopped) from my garden... fourth, I added 2 TBL pepper and 2 TBL coarse kosher salt. All the other ingredients I kept at the same measurements. I cooked it all for six hours on HIGH. When it was time for the white sauce, I browned the flour in butter and cooked it with the milk on the stove before adding it to the crock. End result?? Delicious!! Kids wouldn't touch it, but I loved it, and most any adult would probably agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
If you like you potatoes soft, than cook the length suggested. This is recipe that you will need to add your own spices otherwise bland. A wonderful basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe pretty strictly, and this was very bland. We had lots of leftovers for our family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a good basic potato soup recipe, however I think if it were made as directed it would be pretty bland as other posters have said. I used 8 cups of potatoes instead of pounds and put salt and garlic powder on the potatoes before adding in the onion. I also added some crispy crumbled bacon and just a little bit of the bacon grease that I had sauteed a little minced garlic in. I added 1 can of Cream of Chicken soup also and put about 3/4 Cup of flour, it wasn't as thick as I would have liked so I added a little instant potato flakes to thicken it up a bit and once I got it into my bowl I added a little crumbled bacon on top and some shredded mild cheddar cheese. Even though I salted the potatoes before starting the slow cooker, I still needed some salt and pepper in my bowl, so I would add some at the end or just add some to your bowl per your taste. Overall it was a delicious soup! Add some saltines on the side and it's great also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is an excellent basic soup! On it's own it tends to be a little bland but since it's so basic it allows you to really make it your own! I added a lot of spices (dill, rosemary, and potato seasoning) plus crumbled bacon to mine and it turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this on the stove, rather than in the crock pot, and added bacon and cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasley02

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a good basic recipe but even with the addition of a lot of spices it was a little bland. Next time I might cook some cubed ham and add it to the soup for salt and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The texture is perfect but it is very bland. Definitely needed salt and was much better with garlic or cheddar cheese added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States