Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Way too salty - I should have known better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was the best slow cooker meal that I have made. It was easy, and the meat was tender and delicious. I added small Youkon Gold potatoes. My husband usually dislikes anything from the slow cooker, and he can't wait to eat the leftovers. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent flavor. I was pleasantly surprised. Made mashed potatoes and peas for sides. My roast was 3 1/2 lbs but I did not add additional seasoning packages, just a little extra water (maybe a cup total). Also threw in extra carrots (10 total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this over the weekend and my husband raved about it!! It was so easy to prepare and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was terrific! Tried it for the first time this weekend. Through it together before I headed out for a day of shopping with friends. We were visiting potters in Seagrove, NC, about 1-1/2 hours from home. I called my husband when we were headed back just to let him know when I could be expected and he told me, "by the way, I invited so-and-so and so-and-so over for dinner." It was absolutely perfect! I was also concerned with the conglomeration of flavors and wondered whether or not it would be too salty. The gravy was thick and flavorful and I think it helped a lot that I also added potatoes mid-way through the cooking. I did not salt the roast prior to dredging it. Very tasty! I'll definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is the best pot roast I've ever had! That is what my husband kept saying all through dinner. And I have to agree! I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfect!. The flavor was awesome and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
It was good, not excellent. The seasoning mixes made it rather salty, I would use 1/2 of each and more water next time. Cooking time is way too long, at least for my crock pot, it was cooked (and slightly overdone) after 1 hr high + 3 hrs low, wish I had checked it sooner. I will try again with less seasoning, more vegies, and shorter cooking time, then this really will be a great roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I love this easy recipe, it's been around forever. But, I add tons and tons of veggies. Potatoes, carrots, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, red bell peppers and fresh herbs. I think that helps to cut the salt issue some have with the just meat and packet version. I can't imagine a pot roast without veggies. I would never add additional salt! Wait until it is done and season then if necessary. I'll be making a yummy Cottage pie with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This absolutely best roast I've ever made! Easy to assemble and then just let it cook. The gravy was amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Tried this recipe today and needless to say, there's nothing left. It was awesome. After reading some of the other posts, I worried it would be too salty but we thought it was fine. I added some cubed yukon potatoes and a little bit more water but otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this one again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States