Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Had this for dinner tonight. I couldn't find a 2 1/2 lb so I bought a 3lb. chuck roast. Followed the receipe to the letter. Added baby carrots after 3 hours. Never thought the combination of the mixes would work. I was wrong. The meat was so tender, perfectly done. Plenty of gravy. Served also with mashed potatoes. Husband went back for seconds. Delicious!!!!! This is a keeper and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Unsure how it would be - but everyone loved it. I used a bottom round roast beef (had on hand) and it was excellent. I added in a whole pound of carrots instead and added 2 onions total, upped the water to 1 cup. Also threw in 5 whole garlic cloves. Served over mashed and biscuits. Even the kids devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Loved it! Added potatoes and baby carrots... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenene Calloway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I couldn't find any beef gravy mix, so I just used regular brown gravy mix instead. Also, I used potatoes instead of onions and about a cup of water instead of half a cup. Besides that, I followed the recipe. I had to cook it for almost 7 hours on high to get the meat as tender as I like it, and the flavor of the gravy just doesn't do it for me. Maybe it was the Italian dressing mix, but it just seemed too herby. And it definitely needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Tasted great but there wasn't enough liquid which made it burn to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
All I had was one package of dry onion soup mix so I rubbed garlic and onion powders into the meat (and a little steak seasoning) and then floured and seered in oil/butter. Was perfect! My boys gobbled it all up. I didn't have 8 hours so cooked on high for 5. I think really getting the flour and seasonings into the meat makes a difference. Perfect! Oh and added some cubed potatoes around the three hour mark for hubby -- boys and I had mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I also was a little bit skeptical about the three mixes this recipes calls for, but it turned out to be super delicious even my picky son ate two servings of it. Definitely this recipe is a keeper in our family recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Beltran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victor
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this tonight enjoying it right now!!! Great recipe I added celery and potatoes to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlyd 22
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made this pot Roast using 2 chuck roast and after cooking it for 8 hours exactly it turned out very tender and delicious. I added a few extra to it. I used garlic powder &onion powder to my meat and I browned both sides before i put it in the slow cooker also, I used beef broth instead of water to add to the dry seasonings. I used frozen stewed vegetables and onions.Will be making this again , my family loved it.we ate garlic mash potatoes and green beans with this and was an absolute hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlyd 22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very easy and delicious! Added 4 cut potatoes and 1/2 cup red wine to the half 1/2 cup water and wished with the dry mixes. Poured over the roast and vegetables. Only used half of the dry mixes as suggested and no additional salt. The BEST Pot Roast EVER my husband said! No left overs... Enough said :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States