Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Like many others, I was very skeptical of the combination of seasoning packets - but the roast turned out very flavorful (and not very salty) and so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is my go-to recipe now for pot roast. The whole family loves it. Hubby and I are eating fairly low-carb, so I leave out the flour. It's still delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like this as much as my usual "french onion soup mix" pot roast, but it did have some nice points that I probably will steal. For some reason, this had almost a heavy celery flavor to me. I'm not sure if it was the ranch dressing mix or the italian dressing mix, but the whole roast/gravy tasted heavily of celery. This is not my favorite flavor and I usually leave celery out of soups and stews to avoid that overwhelming flavor. I really liked the consistency of the gravy and I think I will start using the 1/4 c flour rubbed into the meat from now on. I really liked using the chuck roast. I usually use just whatever is on sale but I think chuck is how I'm going to go chuck from now on with pot roast. My next roast I will go back to the onion soup mix packet, but thanks for the recipe. I'm glad so many like it, it just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I just made this. I stuck to the recipe exactly. All I did was sautee the onion (slices) then in the same pan, I browned the roast. Put it all in the slow cooker, then covered the roast with baby carrots and cut up red potatoes. I was skeptical because of all the reviews saying it was salty -- so I added the potatoes (to make it a complete meal, and to soak up any extra salt I didn't want from the dressing mixes). Mine cooked for exactly 8 hours and came out perfect!! I used a 2.6 lb roast and there was nothing left! My husband ate 3 plates of it and said it was a keeper. I thought the meat was incredibly tender and the potatoes and carrots flavorfull. I liked how insanely easy it was. Will definitely be making this again, but will buy a bigger roast! ;) If anyone is worried about it being salty, just throw some potatoes in with everything. I didn't find it salty in the least. I don't know why you wouldn't want to make it with potatoes anyway, it's a complete meal that way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Incredible, gravy was awesome. I used a rump roast turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney lindsay
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I ended up adding almond flour instead of normal flour and added sliced sweet potatoes to the mix and- WOW! This is the best pot roast I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Followed recipe as directed, (although I added potatoes) and was a great family meal - all 3 of my boys really ate it up. Doesn't get much simpler than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Followed the recipe and watched the video. I will admit that instead of 3/4 cup water, I used red wine. The result was fabulous! Served with mashed potatoes and green peas.. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Ristas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
One of the best roast recipes I have tried. made exactly as written and it was fabulous. A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States