Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Salt, salt and more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've been using a variation of this for several years now and everyone LOVES it. I don't bother with the onions, just use brown gravy mix, Italian dressing mix, and the ranch drsg. mix. I like lots of gravy so I double the mixes... Mix all the dry ingredients then rub the roast with the mixture. Place the roast fat side up in the crockpot and sprinkle the rest of the dry mix around the roast in the crockpot. I use 2 cups of water to cook with and add more at the end if needed to thin it out for gravy. I also use baby carrots and celery, and sometimes red potatoes, around the roast. If sodium is the concern, I think I would decrease the Italian dressing, as I think it has more sodium than the ranch. It definitely has a stronger flavor, so I think it wouldn't be missed as much in the mix..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
One of the best pot roast recipes I've tried! The packaged mixes made it. Served with mashed potatoes. Family gave it a thumb's up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Saw this on fb, but didn't save it. Thought I could remember all ingredients, and used taco seasoning mix instead of ranch dressing....it was delicious. Next time, I'll try ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have tried this recipe and it is delicious. I did not put the flour in but I did put potatoes in also. Meat, potatoes and vegetables all in one. I am not a fan of cooked onions so next time I'll try a package of dry onion soup with a little extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This has to be the best pot roast I've ever eaten! I did make a couple of changes: first, I was concerned about the saltiness that some reviewers warned about so I upped the water to almost cover the entire roast. I know this sounds like a lot of water but in the end I was so happy I did because I put the left over in the freezer at the request of my picky eater who wants to add it to her steak :D. Second, instead of onions and dry beef gravy, I substituted 2 packages of Lipton onion soup mix only because I was rushing. Oh, and I added baby carrots and celery during the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Enjoyed it very much ! Great flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So forgiving! I loved the flavor, my husband hates pot roast but loved this and even the picky kids ate it without complaint. I forgot the onion. I didn't have italian dressing mix but Italian spice mix so I used it instead, just a bunch of shakes, and I sure didn't take the time to coat it all nicely. I tossed the roast in the crock pot, all the dry ingredients on top of it then turned the tap on over top of it all to mix it all up on top. I gave it a bit of a swirl and closed the lid. It was already noon by then so I turned it on to high until we ate at 5:30. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States