Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have this in the slow cooker right now - I've tasted a potato and carrot and just from that I can tell that the gravy is amazing. I used a 1/2 round roast that I had in the freezer, in case I didn't like it I wouldn't mess up a whole roast. I was very skeptical, even though the reviews are great, I didn't know how the Ranch dressing mix would taste (I didn't have Ranch dressing mix so I used Ranch Dip seasoning - practically the same thing!) I made a few minor changes - First I browned all sides of the roast then added dried diced onions, about 2 T. minced garlic, about 1/4 C Burgundy wine and about 2 tsp Lea & Perrin's Worcestershire sauce. I added a little black pepper and NO salt, and the gravy is perfect. As it cooked the gravy got very thick so I added more water as needed. I can't wait until the roast is finished cooking - I want it to be fall apart tender. It smells so good and will have it with fresh collard greens, also on the stove right now. I'm not going to tell my husband about the Ranch Dip & Italian Dressing seasoning, otherwise he'll get it in his head that he won't like it. - Great Recipe! If the roast comes out as good as the gravy then I have a new quick way of cooking a roast in the slow cooker. Next time I'll use a chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have used this same recipe for a few years with beef as well as pork loins. I know it sounds strange, but it really adds some nice favors to the meat and makes a great gravy for rice, potato or pasta. The only problem is that your gravy can be rather salty to taste if made exactly as written. The problem is all those mixes contain a lot of salt which works well if used separately, but combined makes the dish way too salty. My solution has been to prepare larger batches of my own ranch and Italian seasoning mixes (from this site) ahead of time, completely omitting the salt, and storing them in a airtight containers until needed. Usually 2 or 3 tablespoons of the bulk mix (depending on recipe) equals a packet and the salt already in the gravy mix is enough to allow the flavor of the meat to come through without overwhelming the roast with saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
this is hard to beat and idiot proof. only way I do it now. You don't really need to flour the meat but if you do I recommend browning it-- adds great flavor. you can whisk in some corn starch mixed with cold water after you remove the roast to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Hmmm, not my favorite. I liked the seasoning ok, but it does have a lot of sodium. I may not have used enough flour because the gravy was very thin. The meat was tender, but overall, I just didn't care for it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have been doing this recipe for a long time and each time, it gets raves. It's perfect as dinner when you are expecting guests but don't know the exact time they will arrive. I don't add the extra salt or the flour--just brown the roast a bit in a heavy pot, then transfer to the slow cooker, add the seasoning mixes, a little water, and let it become delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very tasty! I did "brown" it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've made this several times now. It's my family's favorite way of having a beef roast. I sprinkle the roast with flour, then brown it before putting in crock pot. I always brown roasts first for the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this and it turned out Wonderful. I used a top round roast five pounds. It didn't fit in my crock pot so I put in the oven on 275 degrees for Eight hours. I also browned the roast first. I cut giant carrots in chunks and put under the meat and I used a can of beef broth instead of water. I cooked some baby portabellas in butter and when the roast was done I added those to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Can someone advise on how to make this gluten and dairy free. I know I can't use packaged spices because of those two ingredients. Help! Sounds wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yes and it was fabulous! Two things, I didn't salt the meat, thought there was enough in the dressing,ranch mix and gravy paks. And instead of water I used strong brewed coffee. Made an awesome gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 181-190 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States