Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Hmmm, not my favorite. I liked the seasoning ok, but it does have a lot of sodium. I may not have used enough flour because the gravy was very thin. The meat was tender, but overall, I just didn't care for it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have been doing this recipe for a long time and each time, it gets raves. It's perfect as dinner when you are expecting guests but don't know the exact time they will arrive. I don't add the extra salt or the flour--just brown the roast a bit in a heavy pot, then transfer to the slow cooker, add the seasoning mixes, a little water, and let it become delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very tasty! I did "brown" it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've made this several times now. It's my family's favorite way of having a beef roast. I sprinkle the roast with flour, then brown it before putting in crock pot. I always brown roasts first for the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this and it turned out Wonderful. I used a top round roast five pounds. It didn't fit in my crock pot so I put in the oven on 275 degrees for Eight hours. I also browned the roast first. I cut giant carrots in chunks and put under the meat and I used a can of beef broth instead of water. I cooked some baby portabellas in butter and when the roast was done I added those to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Can someone advise on how to make this gluten and dairy free. I know I can't use packaged spices because of those two ingredients. Help! Sounds wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yes and it was fabulous! Two things, I didn't salt the meat, thought there was enough in the dressing,ranch mix and gravy paks. And instead of water I used strong brewed coffee. Made an awesome gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Cooked this last week, added more onions and red potatoes, just because, and about three garlic cloves. Great...Even better a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sargpepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My favorite pot roast recipe but I bake it at. 300 for 3 hours in covered casserole dish. I don't add water or flour...just meat with 1 pkg each of brown gravy, Italian dressing, and ranch dressing over it. Just toss on meat ...( less of each pkg if roast is smaller than three pounds.) May add veggies last hour if desired. There should be lots of flavorful sauce to thicken for gravy at the end of three hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Made this last week and the aroma was amazing, the dogs whined all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States