Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is my go-to recipe now for pot roast. The whole family loves it. Hubby and I are eating fairly low-carb, so I leave out the flour. It's still delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like this as much as my usual "french onion soup mix" pot roast, but it did have some nice points that I probably will steal. For some reason, this had almost a heavy celery flavor to me. I'm not sure if it was the ranch dressing mix or the italian dressing mix, but the whole roast/gravy tasted heavily of celery. This is not my favorite flavor and I usually leave celery out of soups and stews to avoid that overwhelming flavor. I really liked the consistency of the gravy and I think I will start using the 1/4 c flour rubbed into the meat from now on. I really liked using the chuck roast. I usually use just whatever is on sale but I think chuck is how I'm going to go chuck from now on with pot roast. My next roast I will go back to the onion soup mix packet, but thanks for the recipe. I'm glad so many like it, it just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I just made this. I stuck to the recipe exactly. All I did was sautee the onion (slices) then in the same pan, I browned the roast. Put it all in the slow cooker, then covered the roast with baby carrots and cut up red potatoes. I was skeptical because of all the reviews saying it was salty -- so I added the potatoes (to make it a complete meal, and to soak up any extra salt I didn't want from the dressing mixes). Mine cooked for exactly 8 hours and came out perfect!! I used a 2.6 lb roast and there was nothing left! My husband ate 3 plates of it and said it was a keeper. I thought the meat was incredibly tender and the potatoes and carrots flavorfull. I liked how insanely easy it was. Will definitely be making this again, but will buy a bigger roast! ;) If anyone is worried about it being salty, just throw some potatoes in with everything. I didn't find it salty in the least. I don't know why you wouldn't want to make it with potatoes anyway, it's a complete meal that way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Incredible, gravy was awesome. I used a rump roast turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney lindsay
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I ended up adding almond flour instead of normal flour and added sliced sweet potatoes to the mix and- WOW! This is the best pot roast I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Followed recipe as directed, (although I added potatoes) and was a great family meal - all 3 of my boys really ate it up. Doesn't get much simpler than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Followed the recipe and watched the video. I will admit that instead of 3/4 cup water, I used red wine. The result was fabulous! Served with mashed potatoes and green peas.. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Ristas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
One of the best roast recipes I have tried. made exactly as written and it was fabulous. A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Yummy! I doubled the gravy because I added potatoes...other than that, no changes and it was DELISH! Thank you for this quick, tasty recipe! Will be sure to pass it along to my son when he moves out; it will make several tasty meals for a bachelor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States