Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was pretty good and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
pretty good. used chicken, so no browning. I added a lot more hominy, 2 25 oz cans. half amount of cayenne, added sour cream and cheese for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Love the slow cooker tortilla soup recipe on this site, but wanted another good soup for those cold days. This looked like a great alternative. Sometimes all of the changes in the reviews make my head spin, so I made this almost as written to build my opinion. We really liked this. A thicker, spicier alternative to the tortilla soup's brothy consistency. I thought hominy was supposed to be corn-like, but found it to be almost more like a potato. A perfect mix with the pork (although chicken would be great too). The main thing I strongly recommend everyone do is use chicken broth instead of water. It's an easy change but makes soup so much better (if you haven't used chicken base, it will change your life). I poured in about 2 1/2 cups. I think pouring to the top would be too much. I used Old El Paso medium enchilada sauce, and it was excellent. However, after reading so many "too hot" reviews with medium sauce, I left out the cayenne. Even though I like it hot, I'm glad I left out the cayenne for my wife and daughter. Still had a good bite, but the cayenne would have been too much for them. Depending on your preference, I think maybe one more can of hominy would be fine. You can start with 2, and decide close to the end if you want to add another. Lime wedges, shredded cabbage and chopped onion are a must. Thinly slice radish is nice too. Traditionally, you serve the pazole, and have bowls of garnish for people to add as they like. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This receipe was perfect .. Of course I added a few more ingredients.. Cumin, bay leaves, garlic salt.. Picky husband approved !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is an incredible Posole! Have made several times already, fantastic, taste/heat/consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Add a third can of hominy if you love hominy. Could substitute chicken for the pork without noticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I do use New Mexico chili pods to make my enchilada sauce but for a quick Posole meal this works just as well with canned enchilada sauce and my home critics really can't tell the difference. When I make it with fresh or canned sauce I do add a teaspoon of powdered red chili and a packet of Goya. I agree onions should be chopped instead of sliced. Dont "fill" the crockpot to the top with water. I don't believe the original poster meant to do that. Just add enough water or chicken broth to make it the consistency of a thick soup. You can always add more as it finishes. Since I have an anti cilantro eater we use the cilantro as a garnish so everyone can get their personal cilantro fix which works out just fine. Lime, sour cream and radishes also a must for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Culen
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Delicious!! I followed the recipe as it was instructed. I also added cabbage, guacamole and a squeeze slice of lime for serving. These extra touches made the soup for me. Highly recommend this, I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I did this one for New Years Eve 2015 and I got so many compliments. I did omit the cayenne pepper but added a few other "secret" ingredients. I also served this with a side of radishes cut up small and cabbage with tostadas also. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States