Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Used Juanita's brand hominy; consider doubling amount recipe calls for. Used Las Palmas enchilada sauce, mild; diced up a green chili pepper. Soup was VERY spicy! Good served with guacamole, and I suggest sour cream (especially if you need something to cut the spiciness with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
good flavor, but needs more umph! Such as beans, or diced peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've never made because I thought it would be hard to make, but this was easy and really good. My brother wants me to make it all the time now. My fiance and his mom are El Salvadoran and they loved it. My mother in law said now this is how you make it. When your mother in law approves then must be good. Thank you. Actually making tonight again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and the WHOLE family ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very easy to make. My husband is Mexican and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
WOW... Great simple recipe! I used a pressure cooker instead of crock pot. 1 1/2 hours later we had posole. BUT, after reheating it the next day it was 10 times better. So I suggest making it a day ahead. The only thing I did was to double the pork and the hominy, we like more filling and less broth. (I accidentally forgot the garlic though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Pretty good and pretty spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh My Goodness!! This was absolutely amazing! Whenever I go out for mexican I always order posole. I love it! I never knew how to make it and when I found this recipe I was sooo excited to try it out! My fiancé and I were both in heaven! I was very impressed by this recipe. It was simple and tasted amazing! I did not add the green chiles which im glad I didnt because the spice was perfect and I think if I wouldve added the green chiles it wouldve been too spicy. Also I only added just a bit of cilantro toward the end of cooking then added a bit more to the individual servings. I served it with cabbage, onions, lime, and cilantro with corn muffins on the side! Yum! This is definitely a keeper and this is a great winter recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was surprisingly good for how simple it is. I used mild enchilada sauce, and 2 4oz cans of chopped green chilis, and left out the cayenne pepper and it was pretty spicy still. I ended up using three cans of hominy. added the last can about an hour before serving. I have a 7 quart slow cooker. I ended up putting in about 3 cans of water and that was plenty. I suggest this as a simple, filling delicious meal to come home to on a work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States