Slow Cooker Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great basic one to start with when you don't have a lot on hand, I doctored it up with stuff I scrounged up in cabinets: started with 2 huge and frozen solid out of freezer bone in pork chops, coated each with onion soup mix, got can of sauerkraut, added a little mustard, threw on some caraway seeds, and put over pork chops. cut up a couple of apples and put on top, poured bottle of beer over it all and put on low for 8 hours, came out so tender and really yummy, we all loved it. Probably could have used just a littel more juice but no complaints. I find a lot of items are so tender but overcooked really in the slow cooker so I am away 10 hours or more. So find using frozen meats elimiated need to thaw and prevents the complete disintegration of the meat when you cut it. Was still extremely tender and bone just fell out - will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe; however I did add quite a few other ingredients. The extra ingredients are many of the flavors in a Polish stew recipe that uses sauerkraut and pork (Bigos Stew). I first seasoned the pork chops with seasoned salt and garlic powder. Then I browned the pork chops for approx. 2-3 min. on each side. The additional ingredients added to the crock pot were diced tomatoes, onion, 4 cloves of roasted garlic, 2 slices of chopped bacon, 1 tsp of marjoram and caraway seeds, and a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I took some of the suggestions given in the reviews. I haven’t tried the original recipe posted, but because of the result, I’m giving 5 stars. I browned and seasoned the chops with a homemade seasoning given to me by my uncle and I also added chicken broth, a sliced onion, and added 2 sliced and peeled apples that I had on hand. I also sprinkled some brown sugar on top….It was amazing! My husband often teases me that I over cook pork chops and he just raved and raved about how good this dinner was. It made my day, especially since my husband is often right (I do tend to over cook pork chops)! This recipe and the feedback regarding the recipe were very helpful. The meat was so tender and the taste was fantastic. My girls don’t tend to like sauerkraut – but even though it was main part of the recipe they even gave it 5 stars! I cooked this on high for 4 hours and low for 2 hours. Thanks! Mari Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This recipe has good bones, however, it's also crying out for a little help. I seasoned my chops and seared them before placing them in the cooker. As I would whenever I make sauerkraut, I fried up some bacon until crisp, added chopped onion and a sweet apple. A tablespoon of caraway seeds was also added to help make what turned out to be a really good dish. Thanks for a good start Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Very good, very easy, and very tasty! The pork chops were falling off the bone when I pulled them out of the cooker - very tender! The only addition I made was about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and it tasted great! I never would have believed you could cook pork chops in a slow cooker, let alone have them turn out so good! -Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I used 1/2 cup of apple cider, 3/4 cup of thinly sliced onions, two cloves of garlic and 1 tsp pepper. I cooked on high for 4 hours and on low for two hours. I served with apple sauce, mashed patotes, and corn bread. This is by far the BEST meal that I have made to date! Keep in mind that I'm a rookie cook but I REALLY REALLY did enjoy this easy meal and will make many more times. My wife thought it was really good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
I loved the basic recipe and added to it some sliced tart apple,onion,and a touch of brown sugar. Sorta like stone soup. Just keep on adding til you get what you want. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Tried this today and it came out great. Added apple, and brown sugar as per the other reviews - the apple flavors blended nicely with sauerkraut. Cooked on high for 4 and a half hours. Will definitely make again. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper and then browned them before putting them in the crockpot. I made red potatoes with this, it was delicious! Thanks for posting this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Can't get much easier than this! Added 1 can diced tomatoes and some onions to the recipe. Tastes great; will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States